Evading into terrain

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Warchariot
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:07 am

Evading into terrain

Post by Warchariot »

I'm sure this as been asked before:

A LF unit is evading into difficult terrain which is 3" away. They roll a "6" on a VMR, turn and move. Is their movement resteicted to 4" because of the terrain or do they get the extra 2" meaning a move of "6" :?:
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

The addition or subtraction of VMD is not altered by terrain otherwise routing Kn/HF etc could rout -1MU in difficult. So they would move 4MU (their normal for difficult) +2 MU for rolling 6
BrigPaul
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:06 pm

Post by BrigPaul »

Run that by me again phil... HF evading in difficult, how far do they go on a -2 VMD roll?
P.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

They go 0. I confused myself there. You can't go less than 0, but, the VMD is taken from/added to your normal move in that terrain. I now need to find it in the rules when I get home so I can unconfuse myself.
Warchariot
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:07 am

Post by Warchariot »

The addition or subtraction of VMD is not altered by terrain
Under the general movement rules on p.40, bottom of the fisrt column, it says "The lower distance appilies to the whole move if any part of the battle group is in distance-reducing terrain at any stage..." Again this is under the chapter which covers not phase specific rules-top of p.40 So I looked under evade for an exception.

Evade p. 66 says (fourth bullet)"...and moves it full distance directly forwards adjusting for the varible move distance. This would imply that a unit gets the extra distance. But on p.67 bottom right says "If the evading BG meets terrian it cannot enter, or has too little move to enter... it turns 90 degrees and wheels parallel to the edge..."

So to adjust my example, if the LF is 4MU from difficult terrain and rolled a +2, why would it not turn 90 and wheel parallel to the edge when it meets the terrain? To me this makes some sense as the unit must move its full evade move or or as far as it can. If this is not correct, then what is meant by " or has too little move to enter. (terrain).." This is part of the evade rules so has something to do with evading :?

Thanks for the help,
Larry
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5286
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

I agree with warchariot, you would add the VMD to the light foot regular move and if they would end up in difficult terrain reduce the adjusted move accordingly, if they can't get into it they would run around the outside of it, anything to get further away from the charging enemy.

Likewise the chargers would add their VMD and then the charge move would be adjusted by the terrain they might or might not be forced to charge into, or they would wheel in the charge to try and contact the light troops that just evaded. The charge must still try to contact the original target BG.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

So to adjust my example, if the LF is 4MU from difficult terrain and rolled a +2, why would it not turn 90 and wheel parallel to the edge when it meets the terrain? To me this makes some sense as the unit must move its full evade move or or as far as it can. If this is not correct, then what is meant by " or has too little move to enter. (terrain).." This is part of the evade rules so has something to do with evading
LF move in difficult is 4MU. If they were 3.5MU away and rolled a 2, -1MU, they would not be able to enter the terrain, as their move in that terrain would be 3MU, 4-1. But they could reach the terrain as their move in good going is now 4 MU, 5-1. So they would reach the terrain and stop exactly at its edge.
As it rolled +2 MU its move in that terrain is now 6MU, so it can enter it and indeed get 2 MU in.

With a different troop type it is possibly easier to explain. Light Horse that is 4 MU from difficult terrain rolls 4 in evade, a normal move. It then moves the 4 MU to the terrain, but cannot enter as its move in the terrain is only 3 MU. Howvere, in good going it has 3 MU left to move, therefore it may turn and use those 3 MU to move parrallel to the edge of the terrain.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”