Engaged pikes charged in the flank
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
Engaged pikes charged in the flank
A complex situation occured last night.
A 12 strong, 4 rank pike block was engaged with a couple of Roman Units to its front.
The following turn a block of 4 Hastati charged the pike block at an angle to it corner contacted the 3rd base back.
The second file of Hastati stepped forward to act another unit.
OK, please let me know if I am right...
1. In the impact phase the pike drop a level to Distupted because of the flank charge.
2. In the impact combat the Hastati roll 2 dice at ++ and the Pike 2 dice at --. The pike lost 2/1
3. Now for the post impact cohesion test - how many pike count at engaged for the 1 per 3 rule?
Do you also count the bases contacting enemy to its front?
Does the Pike count -1 for having a threatened flank?
4. In the maneouvre phase the back 2 ranks of pike turn through 90 degrees to "conform"?
The Hastati don't conform since it is also in contact with another unit with its other file.
5. In the melee phase the Hastati fight 2 bases against the 2 bases that turned?
The rest carry on the previous combat as before.
Please could someone comment / answer the questions?
A 12 strong, 4 rank pike block was engaged with a couple of Roman Units to its front.
The following turn a block of 4 Hastati charged the pike block at an angle to it corner contacted the 3rd base back.
The second file of Hastati stepped forward to act another unit.
OK, please let me know if I am right...
1. In the impact phase the pike drop a level to Distupted because of the flank charge.
2. In the impact combat the Hastati roll 2 dice at ++ and the Pike 2 dice at --. The pike lost 2/1
3. Now for the post impact cohesion test - how many pike count at engaged for the 1 per 3 rule?
Do you also count the bases contacting enemy to its front?
Does the Pike count -1 for having a threatened flank?
4. In the maneouvre phase the back 2 ranks of pike turn through 90 degrees to "conform"?
The Hastati don't conform since it is also in contact with another unit with its other file.
5. In the melee phase the Hastati fight 2 bases against the 2 bases that turned?
The rest carry on the previous combat as before.
Please could someone comment / answer the questions?
Only if it was a legal flank charge - it sounds like it wasn't.1. In the impact phase the pike drop a level to Distupted because of the flank charge.
This is wrong unless a flank charge. See FAQ. You can contact ranks 3 and 4 but fight as if a frontal contact with normal POAs as if 4 deep. It would be evens.2. In the impact combat the Hastati roll 2 dice at ++ and the Pike 2 dice at --. The pike lost 2/1
9 always front 3 ranks whoever is engaged3. Now for the post impact cohesion test - how many pike count at engaged for the 1 per 3 rule?
No this is only if someone can charge it. If someone is in it even it doesn't apply - you are stuffed for other reasons and are beyond the stage of worry and into the land of self-preservation.Do you also count the bases contacting enemy to its front?
Does the Pike count -1 for having a threatened flank?
No as it is not a flank charge. In fact after IMPACT the chargers conform and become an overlap of the ongoing pike-roman combat frontally. So basically you get one extra IMOACT go to bust them to DISR with a charge, and then add 2 dice to the melee as an overlap.4. In the maneouvre phase the back 2 ranks of pike turn through 90 degrees to "conform"?
No as above5. In the melee phase the Hastati fight 2 bases against the 2 bases that turned?
Ah an easy question at last ...yupPlease could someone comment / answer the questions?

Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
Thanks
Thanks for the rapid reply.
To answer your question about the flank charge - I think it was a flank charge.
The Hastati was behind the flank although it needed to wheel about 10 degrees in order to contact the flank
(there were 2 other units in contact to the front).
Although your comments on the implication if were not a flank charge, were useful.
So if I get you correctly, If the flank charge was legal:
the pike do not get -1 for 1 per 3 in combat (it would have been 2 in 9)
Also the flank does not count as threatened.
To answer your question about the flank charge - I think it was a flank charge.
The Hastati was behind the flank although it needed to wheel about 10 degrees in order to contact the flank
(there were 2 other units in contact to the front).
Although your comments on the implication if were not a flank charge, were useful.
So if I get you correctly, If the flank charge was legal:
the pike do not get -1 for 1 per 3 in combat (it would have been 2 in 9)
Also the flank does not count as threatened.
-
- Field of Glory 2
- Posts: 28284
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm
Re: Thanks
It is only permitted to wheel at all (in a flank charge) if the BG starts more than 1 MU away from the target BG.MattDower wrote:To answer your question about the flank charge - I think it was a flank charge.
The Hastati was behind the flank although it needed to wheel about 10 degrees in order to contact the flank
-
- Field of Glory Moderator
- Posts: 10287
- Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
- Location: LarryWorld
Illegal as a flank charge if it wheeled within 1 MU - but not illegal as a charge as it would then just count as a charge that contacts flank without counting as a flank charge.
Nik Gaukroger
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
-
- Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
- Posts: 3070
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am
Matt, assuming it's a flank charge:
1. Yes
2. Yes
3. Erm. Pass.
4. At least one base will have turned in the impact phase. The pike get a - POA because of this. IIRC it's the pike player's option if more turn.
5. Hastati fight base in contact, the second rank base and may get an overlap file (though it sounds like they're fighting elsewhere.
Generally the pike are in real trouble - losing bases for disorder and 2 POAs (2 directions plus the Romans now get their swords).
1. Yes
2. Yes
3. Erm. Pass.
4. At least one base will have turned in the impact phase. The pike get a - POA because of this. IIRC it's the pike player's option if more turn.
5. Hastati fight base in contact, the second rank base and may get an overlap file (though it sounds like they're fighting elsewhere.
Generally the pike are in real trouble - losing bases for disorder and 2 POAs (2 directions plus the Romans now get their swords).
-
- Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
- Posts: 167
- Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:20 am
- Location: West Aussieland
-
- Field of Glory Moderator
- Posts: 10287
- Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
- Location: LarryWorld
madmike111 wrote:If it wasn't a legal flank charge you wouldn't be able to even move into contact with the pike as the pike are already engaged to their front. All you could legally do in this case is join an overlap.
Not quite true, only the first 2 ranks cannot be so contacted, so you could contact the 3rd an subsequent ranks of the pikes.
From the FAQ:
Which enemy ranks cannot be so contacted if the front base in the file is already in melee to its front?
The first two ranks.
Nik Gaukroger
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk