Engaged pikes charged in the flank

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
MattDower
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:28 am

Engaged pikes charged in the flank

Post by MattDower »

A complex situation occured last night.

A 12 strong, 4 rank pike block was engaged with a couple of Roman Units to its front.
The following turn a block of 4 Hastati charged the pike block at an angle to it corner contacted the 3rd base back.
The second file of Hastati stepped forward to act another unit.

OK, please let me know if I am right...
1. In the impact phase the pike drop a level to Distupted because of the flank charge.

2. In the impact combat the Hastati roll 2 dice at ++ and the Pike 2 dice at --. The pike lost 2/1

3. Now for the post impact cohesion test - how many pike count at engaged for the 1 per 3 rule?
Do you also count the bases contacting enemy to its front?
Does the Pike count -1 for having a threatened flank?

4. In the maneouvre phase the back 2 ranks of pike turn through 90 degrees to "conform"?
The Hastati don't conform since it is also in contact with another unit with its other file.

5. In the melee phase the Hastati fight 2 bases against the 2 bases that turned?
The rest carry on the previous combat as before.

Please could someone comment / answer the questions?
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

1. In the impact phase the pike drop a level to Distupted because of the flank charge.
Only if it was a legal flank charge - it sounds like it wasn't.
2. In the impact combat the Hastati roll 2 dice at ++ and the Pike 2 dice at --. The pike lost 2/1
This is wrong unless a flank charge. See FAQ. You can contact ranks 3 and 4 but fight as if a frontal contact with normal POAs as if 4 deep. It would be evens.
3. Now for the post impact cohesion test - how many pike count at engaged for the 1 per 3 rule?
9 always front 3 ranks whoever is engaged
Do you also count the bases contacting enemy to its front?
Does the Pike count -1 for having a threatened flank?
No this is only if someone can charge it. If someone is in it even it doesn't apply - you are stuffed for other reasons and are beyond the stage of worry and into the land of self-preservation.
4. In the maneouvre phase the back 2 ranks of pike turn through 90 degrees to "conform"?
No as it is not a flank charge. In fact after IMPACT the chargers conform and become an overlap of the ongoing pike-roman combat frontally. So basically you get one extra IMOACT go to bust them to DISR with a charge, and then add 2 dice to the melee as an overlap.
5. In the melee phase the Hastati fight 2 bases against the 2 bases that turned?
No as above
Please could someone comment / answer the questions?
Ah an easy question at last ...yup :-)
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
MattDower
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:28 am

Thanks

Post by MattDower »

Thanks for the rapid reply.

To answer your question about the flank charge - I think it was a flank charge.
The Hastati was behind the flank although it needed to wheel about 10 degrees in order to contact the flank
(there were 2 other units in contact to the front).

Although your comments on the implication if were not a flank charge, were useful.

So if I get you correctly, If the flank charge was legal:
the pike do not get -1 for 1 per 3 in combat (it would have been 2 in 9)
Also the flank does not count as threatened.
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28284
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Thanks

Post by rbodleyscott »

MattDower wrote:To answer your question about the flank charge - I think it was a flank charge.
The Hastati was behind the flank although it needed to wheel about 10 degrees in order to contact the flank
It is only permitted to wheel at all (in a flank charge) if the BG starts more than 1 MU away from the target BG.
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Which means the flank charge may have been illegal and not possible.

But otherwise yup you seem to have it.

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

Illegal as a flank charge if it wheeled within 1 MU - but not illegal as a charge as it would then just count as a charge that contacts flank without counting as a flank charge.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

Matt, assuming it's a flank charge:

1. Yes

2. Yes

3. Erm. Pass.

4. At least one base will have turned in the impact phase. The pike get a - POA because of this. IIRC it's the pike player's option if more turn.

5. Hastati fight base in contact, the second rank base and may get an overlap file (though it sounds like they're fighting elsewhere.

Generally the pike are in real trouble - losing bases for disorder and 2 POAs (2 directions plus the Romans now get their swords).
madmike111
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:20 am
Location: West Aussieland

Post by madmike111 »

If it wasn't a legal flank charge you wouldn't be able to even move into contact with the pike as the pike are already engaged to their front. All you could legally do in this case is join an overlap.
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

madmike111 wrote:If it wasn't a legal flank charge you wouldn't be able to even move into contact with the pike as the pike are already engaged to their front. All you could legally do in this case is join an overlap.

Not quite true, only the first 2 ranks cannot be so contacted, so you could contact the 3rd an subsequent ranks of the pikes.

From the FAQ:
Which enemy ranks cannot be so contacted if the front base in the file is already in melee to its front?

The first two ranks.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”