Overlaps

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Overlaps

Post by philqw78 »

Image[/img]

Can the units A and B above both overlap the green unit in melee, do they both provide 2 dice? Would it be different if A was facing down the page and B facing up the page? What if A/B was a single unit?
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28287
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Overlaps

Post by rbodleyscott »

philqw78 wrote:Image[/img]

Can the units A and B above both overlap the green unit in melee, do they both provide 2 dice? Would it be different if A was facing down the page and B facing up the page? What if A/B was a single unit?
No
No
No
No difference
Redpossum
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1814
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by Redpossum »

Very good, Mr RBS, sir.

Now could you kindly explain your verdict?

i.e., why not? :roll:
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28287
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

possum wrote:i.e., why not?
Because
 A battle group can only be overlapped by one file at each end of any of its four edges, even if it is stepped forward.
And that one file gets 1 dice for the front rank and 1 dice for the 2nd rank as normal. (or 2 dice for the front rank if knights etc.)
Redpossum
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1814
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by Redpossum »

OK, clear enough, thank you, sir :)
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

I posted this after warfare, somewhere back in the mist that was 2008. The answers were the same then.
frederic
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 8:29 am

Post by frederic »

If unit B was not there, does the two A bases provide 0,1,2 dices ?
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28287
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

frederic wrote:If unit B was not there, does the two A bases provide 0,1,2 dices ?
As far as I can see 0, as
 Full or partial side edge to side edge contact with an enemy base that is in front edge contact with friends.
does not apply.
ahd1976
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:09 pm

Post by ahd1976 »

But if B were not there and A were just a millimeter lower (closer to C), it would then have partial side edge contact and would be able to overlap, correct? If so, how would it look after conforming?

This came up in a game today and we were a little confused. The unit in question [pikes] had pursued out of my battle line and into the gap in my opponents, but since mine was pikes in 4 ranks, even after pursuit it was still side-adjacent to the first fighting rank of enemy to its side - the pikes didn't reach their target, who had autobroken and were later picked up, so my pikes were free to find a new battle in my turn.

Thanks,
Andrew
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28287
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

ahd1976 wrote:But if B were not there and A were just a millimeter lower (closer to C), it would then have partial side edge contact and would be able to overlap, correct?
Yes, but if A was facing up the page it would only get one dice as there is no 2nd rank base behind the base eligible to fight as an overlap.

If A was facing down the page, it would get 2 dice.
If so, how would it look after conforming?
If troops are already in an overlap position they do not conform.
xavier
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post by xavier »

rbodleyscott wrote:
ahd1976 wrote:But if B were not there and A were just a millimeter lower (closer to C), it would then have partial side edge contact and would be able to overlap, correct?
Yes, but if A was facing up the page it would only get one dice as there is no 2nd rank base behind the base eligible to fight as an overlap.

If A was facing down the page, it would get 2 dice.
On the other hand, when defining troops fighting in melee the rules say:

Rear ranks of an eligible troop type can fight if they belong to the same BG as the front rank or overlap they are behind

In this case, and considering B as part of the same BG as A and in the original position shown by the picture (with A not in side contact with the enemy), both B bases are rear ranks, therefore they would fight only if they are behind a rank already in overlap.

The first B base is not behind an overlap, an therefore it shouldn't fight. Right?

For the second B base I have my doubts. If the rules would say "or front rank overlap" it would clearly not fight either. But as it is written now, it is behind an overlap, but behind an overlap we just said doesn't count....

:?

Thanks
Xavier
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

philqw78 wrote:I posted this after warfare, somewhere back in the mist that was 2008. The answers were the same then.
refreshing consistentcy. And it even match what the rules say. Remarkable.
xavier
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:27 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post by xavier »

And the last one, if the 3rd and 4th rank bases do fight, with which POAs?
Do they get the POA for Pike in 3 ranks plus the additional POA for the 4th rank even if only two of them are actually engaged?

Thanks,
Xavi
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

xavier wrote:And the last one, if the 3rd and 4th rank bases do fight, with which POAs?
Do they get the POA for Pike in 3 ranks plus the additional POA for the 4th rank even if only two of them are actually engaged?

Thanks,
Xavi
You always count POA s as if the front rank. So the POAs would be as if there were 4 ranks of pike.

:oops: Must admit I am not reading rules on this but pretty certain.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”