A flank charge or ??? was it?

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
papsterdino
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:45 pm

A flank charge or ??? was it?

Post by papsterdino »

In dementia land we had a situation develop with a flank charge i will describe it as best i can


CC
CC
MMM
KK MMM
KK AAAAAA


A unit of foot (M) was happily fighting a unit of cav (C) which was not able to break of. A unit of Knights (K) declared a flank charge on (M) during their bound. unit A which was a column of foot facing (K) intercepted and was able to interfere with the front right base of (K) the remaining bases of (K) stepped forward and hit (M) partially on the side edge of the front base fighting and the side edge of (C) apolagies as the diagram does not quite line up as the bases did The question is is this still a flank charge????? opinions please
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

A bit like this?

Image

(Base depths are not to scale. But apparently thats allowed in FoG)

IMO, if it was a legal flank charge before moving to contact its still one now
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
papsterdino
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:45 pm

Post by papsterdino »

nearly perfect picture but not touching the 2nd rank of foot. and if if this still qualifies what happens to the 2nd rank?
christospap
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:34 pm

Post by christospap »

I believe it is a legal flank charge (in fact, I've tried to look for reasons it would not be one, and I cannot find any. Unless of course there is something drastically wrong with the picture...).

What happens now? Do the middle foot get to throw two dice in the impact phase, since they are not turning to face their opponents? Or do they lose them?

C
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

If the top base of flank contacting chargers only contacted the rear rank of foot they should turn immediately, but can't, and then fight as if conformed. So as if turned.

if the step forward only hit the front rank they do not turn, but are still contacted to flank, so are disrupted, 2 dice v 2 in impact. Not turned so do not get a minus POA in melee
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
papsterdino
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:45 pm

Post by papsterdino »

where is that bit in the rule book?
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

Now I have the book.
P56 last bullet. However, I am wrong. "immediately turned.....,provided that they are not already in contact to their front .If all contacted bases are already in contact one of them is turned" A misrememberation.

But it can't turn. Friendly BG can be pushed to the side for conforms if they are not in melee. The others are in this instance. So I would assume fight as if conformed and take the -1.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
Mehrunes
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:21 pm

Post by Mehrunes »

Turning to a flank charge is not conforming. They turn as per normal rules for turning. That means: no pushing of friendly BGs at all.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

so do they take a minus poa?
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
rogerg
Captain - Bf 110D
Captain - Bf 110D
Posts: 855
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 1:02 pm
Location: Halifax, Yorkshire

Post by rogerg »

This isn't covered in the rules. I would suggest that they fight as if they had turned. Arguably they are fighting in two directions, there just isn't space to depict it with the figures.
Mehrunes
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:21 pm

Post by Mehrunes »

Agreed. Turning bases is only for the depiction of "fighting in two directions".

@philqw78
I agree with your posting except the pushing thing. Even if not in melee, the friendly BG would not be pushed.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

Mehrunes wrote:Agreed. Turning bases is only for the depiction of "fighting in two directions".

@philqw78
I agree with your posting except the pushing thing. Even if not in melee, the friendly BG would not be pushed.
Because its not conforming, its turning (using normal rules for such)
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
papsterdino
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:45 pm

Post by papsterdino »

To clarify this to take back to the others at my club

A flank charge is a flank charge at the pt of declaration
if the base or bases that qualified it as a flank charge are intercepted any other bases stepping forward still qualify as a flank charge
if contacted bases are unable to turn to face, continue as if they did, with all minuses.
in our game if you look at phils diagram only the front rank of spearmen was contacted not both,
what does the 2nd rank do (A) fight to flank or (B) fight to front as though front rank has turned to flank and it has moved forward?

Dino
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

papsterdino wrote:what does the 2nd rank do (A) fight to flank or (B) fight to front as though front rank has turned to flank and it has moved forward?

Dino
Under normal rules for turning it would normally end behind the front rank, so end up as second rank fighting to flank
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”