A flank charge or ??? was it?
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
-
- Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
- Posts: 80
- Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:45 pm
A flank charge or ??? was it?
In dementia land we had a situation develop with a flank charge i will describe it as best i can
CC
CC
MMM
KK MMM
KK AAAAAA
A unit of foot (M) was happily fighting a unit of cav (C) which was not able to break of. A unit of Knights (K) declared a flank charge on (M) during their bound. unit A which was a column of foot facing (K) intercepted and was able to interfere with the front right base of (K) the remaining bases of (K) stepped forward and hit (M) partially on the side edge of the front base fighting and the side edge of (C) apolagies as the diagram does not quite line up as the bases did The question is is this still a flank charge????? opinions please
CC
CC
MMM
KK MMM
KK AAAAAA
A unit of foot (M) was happily fighting a unit of cav (C) which was not able to break of. A unit of Knights (K) declared a flank charge on (M) during their bound. unit A which was a column of foot facing (K) intercepted and was able to interfere with the front right base of (K) the remaining bases of (K) stepped forward and hit (M) partially on the side edge of the front base fighting and the side edge of (C) apolagies as the diagram does not quite line up as the bases did The question is is this still a flank charge????? opinions please
-
- Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
- Posts: 80
- Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:45 pm
-
- Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:34 pm
I believe it is a legal flank charge (in fact, I've tried to look for reasons it would not be one, and I cannot find any. Unless of course there is something drastically wrong with the picture...).
What happens now? Do the middle foot get to throw two dice in the impact phase, since they are not turning to face their opponents? Or do they lose them?
C
What happens now? Do the middle foot get to throw two dice in the impact phase, since they are not turning to face their opponents? Or do they lose them?
C
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8836
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
If the top base of flank contacting chargers only contacted the rear rank of foot they should turn immediately, but can't, and then fight as if conformed. So as if turned.
if the step forward only hit the front rank they do not turn, but are still contacted to flank, so are disrupted, 2 dice v 2 in impact. Not turned so do not get a minus POA in melee
if the step forward only hit the front rank they do not turn, but are still contacted to flank, so are disrupted, 2 dice v 2 in impact. Not turned so do not get a minus POA in melee
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
-
- Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
- Posts: 80
- Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:45 pm
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8836
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Now I have the book.
P56 last bullet. However, I am wrong. "immediately turned.....,provided that they are not already in contact to their front .If all contacted bases are already in contact one of them is turned" A misrememberation.
But it can't turn. Friendly BG can be pushed to the side for conforms if they are not in melee. The others are in this instance. So I would assume fight as if conformed and take the -1.
P56 last bullet. However, I am wrong. "immediately turned.....,provided that they are not already in contact to their front .If all contacted bases are already in contact one of them is turned" A misrememberation.
But it can't turn. Friendly BG can be pushed to the side for conforms if they are not in melee. The others are in this instance. So I would assume fight as if conformed and take the -1.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8836
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Because its not conforming, its turning (using normal rules for such)Mehrunes wrote:Agreed. Turning bases is only for the depiction of "fighting in two directions".
@philqw78
I agree with your posting except the pushing thing. Even if not in melee, the friendly BG would not be pushed.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
-
- Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
- Posts: 80
- Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:45 pm
To clarify this to take back to the others at my club
A flank charge is a flank charge at the pt of declaration
if the base or bases that qualified it as a flank charge are intercepted any other bases stepping forward still qualify as a flank charge
if contacted bases are unable to turn to face, continue as if they did, with all minuses.
in our game if you look at phils diagram only the front rank of spearmen was contacted not both,
what does the 2nd rank do (A) fight to flank or (B) fight to front as though front rank has turned to flank and it has moved forward?
Dino
A flank charge is a flank charge at the pt of declaration
if the base or bases that qualified it as a flank charge are intercepted any other bases stepping forward still qualify as a flank charge
if contacted bases are unable to turn to face, continue as if they did, with all minuses.
in our game if you look at phils diagram only the front rank of spearmen was contacted not both,
what does the 2nd rank do (A) fight to flank or (B) fight to front as though front rank has turned to flank and it has moved forward?
Dino
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8836
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Under normal rules for turning it would normally end behind the front rank, so end up as second rank fighting to flankpapsterdino wrote:what does the 2nd rank do (A) fight to flank or (B) fight to front as though front rank has turned to flank and it has moved forward?
Dino
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!