45deg rule for charging explanation

Field of Glory II: Medieval

Moderator: rbodleyscott

Post Reply
grahamed
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 6:08 pm

45deg rule for charging explanation

Post by grahamed »

The attachment Screen_00000034.jpg is no longer available
Hi can anyone explain why the knights here got the "did not start within 45deg message as they did start the turn in 45deg and are still within 45 deg when they try to charge?


the knights start at 45deg to the enemy (who is angled away at 45 deg they cant charge straight at him because of the other unit, but they can move one square toward him then they get the cant charge as they did not start within 45 deg message, i guess i am still not quite clear on the geometry of charging! thanks
Screen_00000034.jpg
Screen_00000034.jpg (638.6 KiB) Viewed 1347 times
grahamed
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: 45deg rule for charging explanation

Post by grahamed »

whoops missed 2nd pic off
Screen_00000036.jpg
Screen_00000036.jpg (636.5 KiB) Viewed 1345 times
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28297
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: 45deg rule for charging explanation

Post by rbodleyscott »

Because if you split a move into several sections, each one is adjudicated separately.

So here you have made a 45 degree turn in the first bit of move, and now you would need to turn 45 degrees again to charge. You cannot make two 45 degree turns in a charge.

You did not start the second phase of the move facing within 45 degrees of the target.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image
grahamed
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: 45deg rule for charging explanation

Post by grahamed »

Hi richard i had misunderstood within 45 deg to include exactly 45deg, which it does not. Thanks
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28297
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: 45deg rule for charging explanation

Post by rbodleyscott »

grahamed wrote: Fri Aug 13, 2021 12:22 pm Hi richard i had misunderstood within 45 deg to include exactly 45deg, which it does not. Thanks
Actually in this case it does. But your unit is trying to make two 45 degree turns because of moving the unit in two part moves. Essentially you are moving the unit off the straight charge path and then back on to it.

The direction changes forced by the grid are ignored if you do the whole move in one go, and the overall move is less than 45 degrees, but not if you do the same move in separate sections
Richard Bodley Scott

Image
grahamed
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: 45deg rule for charging explanation

Post by grahamed »

rbodleyscott wrote: Sat Aug 14, 2021 5:46 am
grahamed wrote: Fri Aug 13, 2021 12:22 pm Hi richard i had misunderstood within 45 deg to include exactly 45deg, which it does not. Thanks
Actually in this case it does. But your unit is trying to make two 45 degree turns because of moving the unit in two part moves. Essentially you are moving the unit off the straight charge path and then back on to it.

The direction changes forced by the grid are ignored if you do the whole move in one go, and the overall move is less than 45 degrees, but not if you do the same move in separate sections
Ok , however one small point is that the message seems wrong, i agree that because i split the move into steps ( to avoid the zoc issue) it adds up to 2 45 deg turns which is not possible.

The message says “did not start the turn within 45deg” the unit was facing less than 45 deg off target at the start, step 1 was turn right and move a square, (ending exactly 45deg from target and diagonally adjacent). But the message was not starting within 45 deg, which, at all times throughout the move it was.

So i understand why it could not be done,it just seems to me that the message is wrong, maybe the trigger for the message relates to the fact that i cant turn to hit the unit ?
grahamed
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: 45deg rule for charging explanation

Post by grahamed »

rbodleyscott wrote: Sat Aug 14, 2021 5:46 am
grahamed wrote: Fri Aug 13, 2021 12:22 pm Hi richard i had misunderstood within 45 deg to include exactly 45deg, which it does not. Thanks
Actually in this case it does. But your unit is trying to make two 45 degree turns because of moving the unit in two part moves. Essentially you are moving the unit off the straight charge path and then back on to it.

The direction changes forced by the grid are ignored if you do the whole move in one go, and the overall move is less than 45 degrees, but not if you do the same move in separate sections
Ok , however one small point is that the message seems wrong, i agree that because i split the move into steps ( to avoid the zoc issue) it adds up to 2 45 deg turns which is not possible.

The message says “did not start the turn within 45deg” the unit was facing less than 45 deg off target at the start, step 1 was turn right and move a square, (ending exactly 45deg from target and diagonally adjacent). But the message was not starting within 45 deg, which, at all times throughout the move it was.

So i understand why it could not be done,it just seems to me that the message is wrong, maybe the trigger for the message relates to the fact that i cant turn to hit the unit ? I think the message should be “not close enough” ?
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28297
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: 45deg rule for charging explanation

Post by rbodleyscott »

grahamed wrote: Sat Aug 14, 2021 10:10 am
rbodleyscott wrote: Sat Aug 14, 2021 5:46 am
grahamed wrote: Fri Aug 13, 2021 12:22 pm Hi richard i had misunderstood within 45 deg to include exactly 45deg, which it does not. Thanks
Actually in this case it does. But your unit is trying to make two 45 degree turns because of moving the unit in two part moves. Essentially you are moving the unit off the straight charge path and then back on to it.

The direction changes forced by the grid are ignored if you do the whole move in one go, and the overall move is less than 45 degrees, but not if you do the same move in separate sections
Ok , however one small point is that the message seems wrong, i agree that because i split the move into steps ( to avoid the zoc issue) it adds up to 2 45 deg turns which is not possible.

The message says “did not start the turn within 45deg” the unit was facing less than 45 deg off target at the start, step 1 was turn right and move a square, (ending exactly 45deg from target and diagonally adjacent). But the message was not starting within 45 deg, which, at all times throughout the move it was.

So i understand why it could not be done,it just seems to me that the message is wrong, maybe the trigger for the message relates to the fact that i cant turn to hit the unit ? I think the message should be “not close enough” ?
You are right that the message is a bit confusing, although I don't see how "not close enough" would be any less confusing.

I will think about it.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image
grahamed
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: 45deg rule for charging explanation

Post by grahamed »

rbodleyscott wrote: Mon Aug 16, 2021 6:30 am
grahamed wrote: Sat Aug 14, 2021 10:10 am
rbodleyscott wrote: Sat Aug 14, 2021 5:46 am

Actually in this case it does. But your unit is trying to make two 45 degree turns because of moving the unit in two part moves. Essentially you are moving the unit off the straight charge path and then back on to it.

The direction changes forced by the grid are ignored if you do the whole move in one go, and the overall move is less than 45 degrees, but not if you do the same move in separate sections
Ok , however one small point is that the message seems wrong, i agree that because i split the move into steps ( to avoid the zoc issue) it adds up to 2 45 deg turns which is not possible.

The message says “did not start the turn within 45deg” the unit was facing less than 45 deg off target at the start, step 1 was turn right and move a square, (ending exactly 45deg from target and diagonally adjacent). But the message was not starting within 45 deg, which, at all times throughout the move it was.

So i understand why it could not be done,it just seems to me that the message is wrong, maybe the trigger for the message relates to the fact that i cant turn to hit the unit ? I think the message should be “not close enough” ?
You are right that the message is a bit confusing, although I don't see how "not close enough" would be any less confusing.

I will think about it.
Fair point
Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory II: Medieval”