Bug? [Edit: Not a bug]
-
Cunningcairn
- Sr. Colonel - Wirbelwind

- Posts: 1723
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
- Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Bug? [Edit: Not a bug]
In the attached screenshot a group of 4 LF advanced 1 block forward at a diagonal. This left each with 6 AP which they used to turn so that they would be facing forward. The Levy skirmisher pictured is however unable to turn. Why is that?
-
kronenblatt
- General - Carrier

- Posts: 4669
- Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:17 pm
- Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Re: Bug?
Because it's "unmanoeuvrable"?
The manual (12.4.2. Unmanoeuvrable Units) reads:
Some units are Unmanoeuvrable and never get a free 45 degree turn. These include ... raw or untrained units.
And the levy skirmisher is raw, thus maybe then also unmanoeuvrable.
But the unit has 6 AP left, and a 45 degree turn costs 4 AP (according to manual) so it should be possible for it to turn though.
The manual (12.4.2. Unmanoeuvrable Units) reads:
Some units are Unmanoeuvrable and never get a free 45 degree turn. These include ... raw or untrained units.
And the levy skirmisher is raw, thus maybe then also unmanoeuvrable.
But the unit has 6 AP left, and a 45 degree turn costs 4 AP (according to manual) so it should be possible for it to turn though.
kronenblatt's campaign and tournament thread hub:
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
Re: Bug?
45 degree turns costs 4 points according to manual. Diagonal moving costs 6.
So my guess is:
The unit had to turn first (-4) then move on diagonal (-6) for a total of -4-6=-10. So is left with 2 points out of 12 (not 6) and cannot turn (unmanoeuverable).
So my guess is:
The unit had to turn first (-4) then move on diagonal (-6) for a total of -4-6=-10. So is left with 2 points out of 12 (not 6) and cannot turn (unmanoeuverable).
-
kronenblatt
- General - Carrier

- Posts: 4669
- Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:17 pm
- Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Re: Bug?
Although the attached picture in the opening post indicates that the unit has 6 AP left.
kronenblatt's campaign and tournament thread hub:
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
Re: Bug?
You could try checking the tooltip?Cunningcairn wrote: ↑Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:02 pm In the attached screenshot a group of 4 LF advanced 1 block forward at a diagonal. This left each with 6 AP which they used to turn so that they would be facing forward. The Levy skirmisher pictured is however unable to turn. Why is that?
Screen_00000000.jpg
I recreated your situation and it says this;

So the question now is why 6 APs is not enough to allow this unit to turn?
Edit: So I think that unless we have missed something this is either a bug, or the manual is not telling the whole story about these levy skirmishers.
Paul
Last edited by Paul59 on Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Field of Glory II Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, Wolves at the Gate and Swifter than Eagles.
Field of Glory II Medieval Scenario Designer.
FOGII TT Mod Creator
Warhammer 40,000: Sanctus Reach Tournament Scenario Designer.
Field of Glory II Medieval Scenario Designer.
FOGII TT Mod Creator
Warhammer 40,000: Sanctus Reach Tournament Scenario Designer.
Re: Bug?
There is definitely something unintuitive about the movement costs. That levy skirmisher can do a "knight move" forward and over a square and finish with 2AP, and still be able to turn 360 degrees any direction it pleases, but a single diagonal has the aforementioned result.
-
SnuggleBunnies
- Major-General - Jagdtiger

- Posts: 2892
- Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 2:09 am
Re: Bug?
It is because they're classed unmaneuverable.
MP Replays:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjUQy6dEqR53NwoGgjxixLg
Pike and Shot-Sengoku Jidai Crossover Mod:
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=116259
Middle Earth mod:
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1029243#p1029243
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjUQy6dEqR53NwoGgjxixLg
Pike and Shot-Sengoku Jidai Crossover Mod:
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=116259
Middle Earth mod:
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1029243#p1029243
Re: Bug?
So what are we missing here?
The Manual says "45 degree turns by troops that are unmanoeuvrable or out of command range cost 4 AP."
This unmanoeuvrable Levy Skirmisher unit has 6 AP left, so according to the manual it has more than enough AP to make the 45 degree turn in my screenshot. Obviously it is not entitled to a free move, as it is unmanoeuvrable, but with 6 AP remaining it should not need a free move to make a 45 degree turn.
Is it something to do with the original facing? I don't see why it should, in my example the unit started the turn facing straight ahead, so a 45 degree turn to the right would just take it back to it's original direction.
Field of Glory II Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, Wolves at the Gate and Swifter than Eagles.
Field of Glory II Medieval Scenario Designer.
FOGII TT Mod Creator
Warhammer 40,000: Sanctus Reach Tournament Scenario Designer.
Field of Glory II Medieval Scenario Designer.
FOGII TT Mod Creator
Warhammer 40,000: Sanctus Reach Tournament Scenario Designer.
-
rbodleyscott
- Field of Glory 2

- Posts: 28320
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm
Re: Bug?
This would be its second 45 degree turn, and it can't do it because it is unmanoeuvrable.Paul59 wrote: ↑Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:55 amSo what are we missing here?
The Manual says "45 degree turns by troops that are unmanoeuvrable or out of command range cost 4 AP."
This unmanoeuvrable Levy Skirmisher unit has 6 AP left, so according to the manual it has more than enough AP to make the 45 degree turn in my screenshot. Obviously it is not entitled to a free move, as it is unmanoeuvrable, but with 6 AP remaining it should not need a free move to make a 45 degree turn.
Is it something to do with the original facing? I don't see why it should, in my example the unit started the turn facing straight ahead, so a 45 degree turn to the right would just take it back to it's original direction.
Richard Bodley Scott


-
kronenblatt
- General - Carrier

- Posts: 4669
- Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:17 pm
- Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Re: Bug?
Cunningcairn wrote: ↑Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:02 pm In the attached screenshot a group of 4 LF advanced 1 block forward at a diagonal. This left each with 6 AP which they used to turn so that they would be facing forward. The Levy skirmisher pictured is however unable to turn. Why is that?
OK, that then makes sense in Paul59's example. (EDIT: OK, maybe it doesn't necessarily make sense, since it has 6 AP left after all, and a 45 degree turn costs 4 AP.)rbodleyscott wrote: ↑Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:23 pmThis would be its second 45 degree turn, and it can't do it because it is unmanoeuvrable.
What was the unit's original facing in your example, Cunningcairn? (I was of the assumption, don't know why, that the unit was already facing diagonally in the direction that it then moved, but maybe that wasn't the case.)
Last edited by kronenblatt on Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kronenblatt's campaign and tournament thread hub:
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
Re: Bug?
Is that mentioned in the manual? I can't see it. Maybe as it only affects one unit in the game there is little point.rbodleyscott wrote: ↑Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:23 pmThis would be its second 45 degree turn, and it can't do it because it is unmanoeuvrable.Paul59 wrote: ↑Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:55 amSo what are we missing here?
The Manual says "45 degree turns by troops that are unmanoeuvrable or out of command range cost 4 AP."
This unmanoeuvrable Levy Skirmisher unit has 6 AP left, so according to the manual it has more than enough AP to make the 45 degree turn in my screenshot. Obviously it is not entitled to a free move, as it is unmanoeuvrable, but with 6 AP remaining it should not need a free move to make a 45 degree turn.
Is it something to do with the original facing? I don't see why it should, in my example the unit started the turn facing straight ahead, so a 45 degree turn to the right would just take it back to it's original direction.
Field of Glory II Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, Wolves at the Gate and Swifter than Eagles.
Field of Glory II Medieval Scenario Designer.
FOGII TT Mod Creator
Warhammer 40,000: Sanctus Reach Tournament Scenario Designer.
Field of Glory II Medieval Scenario Designer.
FOGII TT Mod Creator
Warhammer 40,000: Sanctus Reach Tournament Scenario Designer.
-
Cunningcairn
- Sr. Colonel - Wirbelwind

- Posts: 1723
- Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
- Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Re: Bug?
It was the second 45 degree turn and explains why it could not turn again but I don't understand why it was classified as such.kronenblatt wrote: ↑Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:41 pmCunningcairn wrote: ↑Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:02 pm In the attached screenshot a group of 4 LF advanced 1 block forward at a diagonal. This left each with 6 AP which they used to turn so that they would be facing forward. The Levy skirmisher pictured is however unable to turn. Why is that?OK, that then makes sense in Paul59's example. (EDIT: OK, maybe it doesn't necessarily make sense, since it has 6 AP left after all, and a 45 degree turn costs 4 AP.)rbodleyscott wrote: ↑Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:23 pmThis would be its second 45 degree turn, and it can't do it because it is unmanoeuvrable.
What was the unit's original facing in your example, Cunningcairn? (I was of the assumption, don't know why, that the unit was already facing diagonally in the direction that it then moved, but maybe that wasn't the case.)
-
kronenblatt
- General - Carrier

- Posts: 4669
- Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:17 pm
- Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Re: Bug?
Same type of situation, but with a maneuverable unit. See below. I thought that a 45 degree turn cost 4 AP and thus was possible to conduct as long as 4 AP was available for the unit. But that's not the case, as a general rule, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable?rbodleyscott wrote:
kronenblatt's campaign and tournament thread hub:
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
-
rbodleyscott
- Field of Glory 2

- Posts: 28320
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm
Re: Bug?
After the first such turn, the cost goes up to 8.kronenblatt wrote: ↑Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:12 pmSame type of situation, but with a maneuverable unit. See below. I thought that a 45 degree turn cost 4 AP and thus was possible to conduct as long as 4 AP was available for the unit. But that's not the case, as a general rule, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable?rbodleyscott wrote:
Screen_00000148.jpg
Richard Bodley Scott


-
kronenblatt
- General - Carrier

- Posts: 4669
- Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:17 pm
- Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN
Re: Bug?
Thanks: good to know! And that 8 AP cost for a second 45 degree turn applies to all units, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable? (So given that an unmaneuverable unit had 8 AP left, it could then make a second 45 degree turn?)rbodleyscott wrote: ↑Tue Nov 24, 2020 10:11 amAfter the first such turn, the cost goes up to 8.kronenblatt wrote: ↑Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:12 pmSame type of situation, but with a maneuverable unit. See below. I thought that a 45 degree turn cost 4 AP and thus was possible to conduct as long as 4 AP was available for the unit. But that's not the case, as a general rule, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable?rbodleyscott wrote:
Screen_00000148.jpg
kronenblatt's campaign and tournament thread hub:
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
-
rbodleyscott
- Field of Glory 2

- Posts: 28320
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm
Re: Bug?
Not sure, I think probably not. Will look at the code when time permits.kronenblatt wrote: ↑Tue Nov 24, 2020 10:53 amThanks: good to know! And that 8 AP cost for a second 45 degree turn applies to all units, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable? (So given that an unmaneuverable unit had 8 AP left, it could then make a second 45 degree turn?)rbodleyscott wrote: ↑Tue Nov 24, 2020 10:11 amAfter the first such turn, the cost goes up to 8.kronenblatt wrote: ↑Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:12 pm
Same type of situation, but with a maneuverable unit. See below. I thought that a 45 degree turn cost 4 AP and thus was possible to conduct as long as 4 AP was available for the unit. But that's not the case, as a general rule, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable?
Screen_00000148.jpg
Richard Bodley Scott




