Bug? [Edit: Not a bug]

Field of Glory II is a turn-based tactical game set during the Rise of Rome from 280 BC to 25 BC.
Post Reply
Cunningcairn
Sr. Colonel - Wirbelwind
Sr. Colonel - Wirbelwind
Posts: 1723
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Bug? [Edit: Not a bug]

Post by Cunningcairn »

In the attached screenshot a group of 4 LF advanced 1 block forward at a diagonal. This left each with 6 AP which they used to turn so that they would be facing forward. The Levy skirmisher pictured is however unable to turn. Why is that?
Screen_00000000.jpg
Screen_00000000.jpg (469.83 KiB) Viewed 2352 times
kronenblatt
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4669
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:17 pm
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN

Re: Bug?

Post by kronenblatt »

Because it's "unmanoeuvrable"?

The manual (12.4.2. Unmanoeuvrable Units) reads:

Some units are Unmanoeuvrable and never get a free 45 degree turn. These include ... raw or untrained units.

And the levy skirmisher is raw, thus maybe then also unmanoeuvrable.

But the unit has 6 AP left, and a 45 degree turn costs 4 AP (according to manual) so it should be possible for it to turn though.
kronenblatt's campaign and tournament thread hub:

https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
Lebo44
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2018 11:46 am

Re: Bug?

Post by Lebo44 »

45 degree turns costs 4 points according to manual. Diagonal moving costs 6.

So my guess is:
The unit had to turn first (-4) then move on diagonal (-6) for a total of -4-6=-10. So is left with 2 points out of 12 (not 6) and cannot turn (unmanoeuverable).
kronenblatt
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4669
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:17 pm
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN

Re: Bug?

Post by kronenblatt »

Lebo44 wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 7:55 pm 45 degree turns costs 4 points according to manual. Diagonal moving costs 6.

So my guess is:
The unit had to turn first (-4) then move on diagonal (-6) for a total of -4-6=-10. So is left with 2 points out of 12 (not 6) and cannot turn (unmanoeuverable).
Although the attached picture in the opening post indicates that the unit has 6 AP left.
kronenblatt's campaign and tournament thread hub:

https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
Paul59
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3859
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:26 pm

Re: Bug?

Post by Paul59 »

Cunningcairn wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:02 pm In the attached screenshot a group of 4 LF advanced 1 block forward at a diagonal. This left each with 6 AP which they used to turn so that they would be facing forward. The Levy skirmisher pictured is however unable to turn. Why is that?
Screen_00000000.jpg
You could try checking the tooltip?

I recreated your situation and it says this;

Image

So the question now is why 6 APs is not enough to allow this unit to turn?

Edit: So I think that unless we have missed something this is either a bug, or the manual is not telling the whole story about these levy skirmishers.


Paul
Last edited by Paul59 on Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Field of Glory II Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, Wolves at the Gate and Swifter than Eagles.

Field of Glory II Medieval Scenario Designer.

FOGII TT Mod Creator

Warhammer 40,000: Sanctus Reach Tournament Scenario Designer.
Gaznak
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 8:29 pm

Re: Bug?

Post by Gaznak »

There is definitely something unintuitive about the movement costs. That levy skirmisher can do a "knight move" forward and over a square and finish with 2AP, and still be able to turn 360 degrees any direction it pleases, but a single diagonal has the aforementioned result.
SnuggleBunnies
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2892
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 2:09 am

Re: Bug?

Post by SnuggleBunnies »

It is because they're classed unmaneuverable.
MP Replays:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjUQy6dEqR53NwoGgjxixLg

Pike and Shot-Sengoku Jidai Crossover Mod:
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=116259

Middle Earth mod:
https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1029243#p1029243
Paul59
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3859
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:26 pm

Re: Bug?

Post by Paul59 »

SnuggleBunnies wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:29 pm It is because they're classed unmaneuverable.
So what are we missing here?

The Manual says "45 degree turns by troops that are unmanoeuvrable or out of command range cost 4 AP."

This unmanoeuvrable Levy Skirmisher unit has 6 AP left, so according to the manual it has more than enough AP to make the 45 degree turn in my screenshot. Obviously it is not entitled to a free move, as it is unmanoeuvrable, but with 6 AP remaining it should not need a free move to make a 45 degree turn.

Is it something to do with the original facing? I don't see why it should, in my example the unit started the turn facing straight ahead, so a 45 degree turn to the right would just take it back to it's original direction.
Field of Glory II Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, Wolves at the Gate and Swifter than Eagles.

Field of Glory II Medieval Scenario Designer.

FOGII TT Mod Creator

Warhammer 40,000: Sanctus Reach Tournament Scenario Designer.
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28320
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Bug?

Post by rbodleyscott »

Paul59 wrote: Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:55 am
SnuggleBunnies wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:29 pm It is because they're classed unmaneuverable.
So what are we missing here?

The Manual says "45 degree turns by troops that are unmanoeuvrable or out of command range cost 4 AP."

This unmanoeuvrable Levy Skirmisher unit has 6 AP left, so according to the manual it has more than enough AP to make the 45 degree turn in my screenshot. Obviously it is not entitled to a free move, as it is unmanoeuvrable, but with 6 AP remaining it should not need a free move to make a 45 degree turn.

Is it something to do with the original facing? I don't see why it should, in my example the unit started the turn facing straight ahead, so a 45 degree turn to the right would just take it back to it's original direction.
This would be its second 45 degree turn, and it can't do it because it is unmanoeuvrable.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image
kronenblatt
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4669
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:17 pm
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN

Re: Bug?

Post by kronenblatt »

Cunningcairn wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:02 pm In the attached screenshot a group of 4 LF advanced 1 block forward at a diagonal. This left each with 6 AP which they used to turn so that they would be facing forward. The Levy skirmisher pictured is however unable to turn. Why is that?
rbodleyscott wrote: Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:23 pm
Paul59 wrote: Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:55 am Is it something to do with the original facing? I don't see why it should, in my example the unit started the turn facing straight ahead, so a 45 degree turn to the right would just take it back to it's original direction.
This would be its second 45 degree turn, and it can't do it because it is unmanoeuvrable.
OK, that then makes sense in Paul59's example. (EDIT: OK, maybe it doesn't necessarily make sense, since it has 6 AP left after all, and a 45 degree turn costs 4 AP.)
What was the unit's original facing in your example, Cunningcairn? (I was of the assumption, don't know why, that the unit was already facing diagonally in the direction that it then moved, but maybe that wasn't the case.)
Last edited by kronenblatt on Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kronenblatt's campaign and tournament thread hub:

https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
Paul59
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3859
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:26 pm

Re: Bug?

Post by Paul59 »

rbodleyscott wrote: Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:23 pm
Paul59 wrote: Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:55 am
SnuggleBunnies wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 10:29 pm It is because they're classed unmaneuverable.
So what are we missing here?

The Manual says "45 degree turns by troops that are unmanoeuvrable or out of command range cost 4 AP."

This unmanoeuvrable Levy Skirmisher unit has 6 AP left, so according to the manual it has more than enough AP to make the 45 degree turn in my screenshot. Obviously it is not entitled to a free move, as it is unmanoeuvrable, but with 6 AP remaining it should not need a free move to make a 45 degree turn.

Is it something to do with the original facing? I don't see why it should, in my example the unit started the turn facing straight ahead, so a 45 degree turn to the right would just take it back to it's original direction.
This would be its second 45 degree turn, and it can't do it because it is unmanoeuvrable.
Is that mentioned in the manual? I can't see it. Maybe as it only affects one unit in the game there is little point.
Field of Glory II Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, Wolves at the Gate and Swifter than Eagles.

Field of Glory II Medieval Scenario Designer.

FOGII TT Mod Creator

Warhammer 40,000: Sanctus Reach Tournament Scenario Designer.
Cunningcairn
Sr. Colonel - Wirbelwind
Sr. Colonel - Wirbelwind
Posts: 1723
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:05 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Re: Bug?

Post by Cunningcairn »

kronenblatt wrote: Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:41 pm
Cunningcairn wrote: Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:02 pm In the attached screenshot a group of 4 LF advanced 1 block forward at a diagonal. This left each with 6 AP which they used to turn so that they would be facing forward. The Levy skirmisher pictured is however unable to turn. Why is that?
rbodleyscott wrote: Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:23 pm
Paul59 wrote: Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:55 am Is it something to do with the original facing? I don't see why it should, in my example the unit started the turn facing straight ahead, so a 45 degree turn to the right would just take it back to it's original direction.
This would be its second 45 degree turn, and it can't do it because it is unmanoeuvrable.
OK, that then makes sense in Paul59's example. (EDIT: OK, maybe it doesn't necessarily make sense, since it has 6 AP left after all, and a 45 degree turn costs 4 AP.)
What was the unit's original facing in your example, Cunningcairn? (I was of the assumption, don't know why, that the unit was already facing diagonally in the direction that it then moved, but maybe that wasn't the case.)
It was the second 45 degree turn and explains why it could not turn again but I don't understand why it was classified as such.
kronenblatt
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4669
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:17 pm
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN

Re: Bug?

Post by kronenblatt »

rbodleyscott wrote:
Same type of situation, but with a maneuverable unit. See below. I thought that a 45 degree turn cost 4 AP and thus was possible to conduct as long as 4 AP was available for the unit. But that's not the case, as a general rule, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable?
Screen_00000148.jpg
Screen_00000148.jpg (259.04 KiB) Viewed 2075 times
kronenblatt's campaign and tournament thread hub:

https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28320
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Bug?

Post by rbodleyscott »

kronenblatt wrote: Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:12 pm
rbodleyscott wrote:
Same type of situation, but with a maneuverable unit. See below. I thought that a 45 degree turn cost 4 AP and thus was possible to conduct as long as 4 AP was available for the unit. But that's not the case, as a general rule, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable?

Screen_00000148.jpg
After the first such turn, the cost goes up to 8.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image
kronenblatt
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4669
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 4:17 pm
Location: Stockholm, SWEDEN

Re: Bug?

Post by kronenblatt »

rbodleyscott wrote: Tue Nov 24, 2020 10:11 am
kronenblatt wrote: Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:12 pm
rbodleyscott wrote:
Same type of situation, but with a maneuverable unit. See below. I thought that a 45 degree turn cost 4 AP and thus was possible to conduct as long as 4 AP was available for the unit. But that's not the case, as a general rule, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable?

Screen_00000148.jpg
After the first such turn, the cost goes up to 8.
Thanks: good to know! And that 8 AP cost for a second 45 degree turn applies to all units, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable? (So given that an unmaneuverable unit had 8 AP left, it could then make a second 45 degree turn?)
kronenblatt's campaign and tournament thread hub:

https://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=108643
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28320
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Bug?

Post by rbodleyscott »

kronenblatt wrote: Tue Nov 24, 2020 10:53 am
rbodleyscott wrote: Tue Nov 24, 2020 10:11 am
kronenblatt wrote: Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:12 pm

Same type of situation, but with a maneuverable unit. See below. I thought that a 45 degree turn cost 4 AP and thus was possible to conduct as long as 4 AP was available for the unit. But that's not the case, as a general rule, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable?

Screen_00000148.jpg
After the first such turn, the cost goes up to 8.
Thanks: good to know! And that 8 AP cost for a second 45 degree turn applies to all units, whether maneuverable or unmaneuverable? (So given that an unmaneuverable unit had 8 AP left, it could then make a second 45 degree turn?)
Not sure, I think probably not. Will look at the code when time permits.
Richard Bodley Scott

Image
Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory II”