On our last game we had the following deployment on the the table. Red units were carthaginians, greens were later seleucids and ____ open spaces.
__ CvCvCv
__ CvCvCv
LFLFLF___SpSpSpSp
LFLFLF___SpSpSpSp
___________SwSwPkPk
___________SwSwPkPk
______ CvCv
______ CvCv
It was later seleucid's turn and the cavalry in the back had declared a charge on the spears. The carthaginian player declared an interception with his cavalry on the charging unit as this was moving through his ZOI. Rules don't say anything about units blocking ZOI, just terrain, and the only requirement we found was that intercepting unit had to cross the chargers path. As the LF had to make a CMT to stand the cavalry there was a chance for the cavalry to pass the LF and cross the path of the seleucid cavalry. So that's where the discussion started.
Iterception question
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
The intercepting player wanted the light foot to go away by then failing the CMT roll to stand a charge as he was thinking of his move as a charge, that others though it wasn't.
I have been taking a look at the turn sequence and you are right. First thing here is to declare all charges, and interception chargers are supposed to be charges. Then you roll for skirmirsher not wishing to evade non-skirmirshers, and before they move away if they fail their roll the interception moves have to be done, so the cavalry can't go further the LF anyway. This sequence makes all the prior talk nonsense.
Thanks.
I have been taking a look at the turn sequence and you are right. First thing here is to declare all charges, and interception chargers are supposed to be charges. Then you roll for skirmirsher not wishing to evade non-skirmirshers, and before they move away if they fail their roll the interception moves have to be done, so the cavalry can't go further the LF anyway. This sequence makes all the prior talk nonsense.
Thanks.
I think the answer is...
The unit wanting to intercept must be able to move into the way. In this example, there is no way to displace the LF at this point in the battle. Therefore, if the valid move forward, upto 4 MUs for the cavalry that is trying to intercept is blocked or it can't get far enough forward to intercept the chargers, then there is no interception at all.
The unit wanting to intercept must be able to move into the way. In this example, there is no way to displace the LF at this point in the battle. Therefore, if the valid move forward, upto 4 MUs for the cavalry that is trying to intercept is blocked or it can't get far enough forward to intercept the chargers, then there is no interception at all.
Monty
It doesn't take a genius to make something simple, complicated. It takes a genius to make something complicated, simple.
It doesn't take a genius to make something simple, complicated. It takes a genius to make something complicated, simple.
A very interesting situation.
I think with a careful reading of the rules, it's clear that the Cavalry in this case CANNOT intercept.
The key passages are on p63.
The interception charge can only go ahead if either of the following apply:
1. it crosses the path of the charging enemy BG. In this case it would have to move to a position beyond the front of the Spears. Remember that the interception charge can only be directly ahead (with exceptions).
or
2. contact the flank or rear of the charging BG. This clearly does not apply.
Now then, the question becomes, 'can the interception push the LF out of the way'? No it can't. Even if the LF don't pass a CMT to stand, they have to evade. The full turn sequence (p168) makes it clear that interceptions charges must be completed before evade moves are made. So in this case, even if the LF evade, they would do so after the Cavalry interception charge.
Therefore, the cavalry cannot intercept.
But i could be wrong...
I think with a careful reading of the rules, it's clear that the Cavalry in this case CANNOT intercept.
The key passages are on p63.
The interception charge can only go ahead if either of the following apply:
1. it crosses the path of the charging enemy BG. In this case it would have to move to a position beyond the front of the Spears. Remember that the interception charge can only be directly ahead (with exceptions).
or
2. contact the flank or rear of the charging BG. This clearly does not apply.
Now then, the question becomes, 'can the interception push the LF out of the way'? No it can't. Even if the LF don't pass a CMT to stand, they have to evade. The full turn sequence (p168) makes it clear that interceptions charges must be completed before evade moves are made. So in this case, even if the LF evade, they would do so after the Cavalry interception charge.
Therefore, the cavalry cannot intercept.
But i could be wrong...
Agree 100% with everyone else. It is not enough for the path of the Carthaginian cavalry to hypothetically cross that of the charging Seleucids. They also have to be able to physically reach them, which is impossible because their own LF are in the way.Luddite wrote:A very interesting situation.
I think with a careful reading of the rules, it's clear that the Cavalry in this case CANNOT intercept.
Cheers,
Scott
-
- Field of Glory 2
- Posts: 28288
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm
Correctars_belli wrote:Agree 100% with everyone else. It is not enough for the path of the Carthaginian cavalry to hypothetically cross that of the charging Seleucids. They also have to be able to physically reach them, which is impossible because the LF are in the way.Luddite wrote:A very interesting situation.
I think with a careful reading of the rules, it's clear that the Cavalry in this case CANNOT intercept.