Iterception question

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
sesma
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 9:38 am

Iterception question

Post by sesma »

On our last game we had the following deployment on the the table. Red units were carthaginians, greens were later seleucids and ____ open spaces.


__ CvCvCv
__ CvCvCv

LFLFLF___SpSpSpSp
LFLFLF___SpSpSpSp
___________SwSwPkPk
___________SwSwPkPk

______ CvCv
______ CvCv


It was later seleucid's turn and the cavalry in the back had declared a charge on the spears. The carthaginian player declared an interception with his cavalry on the charging unit as this was moving through his ZOI. Rules don't say anything about units blocking ZOI, just terrain, and the only requirement we found was that intercepting unit had to cross the chargers path. As the LF had to make a CMT to stand the cavalry there was a chance for the cavalry to pass the LF and cross the path of the seleucid cavalry. So that's where the discussion started.
rogerg
Captain - Bf 110D
Captain - Bf 110D
Posts: 855
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 1:02 pm
Location: Halifax, Yorkshire

Post by rogerg »

I have not checked the rules on this, but I am pretty sure this is wrong. The Cavalry need to move to the interception position. This is not possible, because they cannot move the enemy LH out of the way.
sesma
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 9:38 am

Post by sesma »

The intercepting player wanted the light foot to go away by then failing the CMT roll to stand a charge as he was thinking of his move as a charge, that others though it wasn't.

I have been taking a look at the turn sequence and you are right. First thing here is to declare all charges, and interception chargers are supposed to be charges. Then you roll for skirmirsher not wishing to evade non-skirmirshers, and before they move away if they fail their roll the interception moves have to be done, so the cavalry can't go further the LF anyway. This sequence makes all the prior talk nonsense.

Thanks.
Montagu
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 2:51 pm

Post by Montagu »

I think the answer is...

The unit wanting to intercept must be able to move into the way. In this example, there is no way to displace the LF at this point in the battle. Therefore, if the valid move forward, upto 4 MUs for the cavalry that is trying to intercept is blocked or it can't get far enough forward to intercept the chargers, then there is no interception at all.
Monty

It doesn't take a genius to make something simple, complicated. It takes a genius to make something complicated, simple.
Luddite
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:11 pm

Post by Luddite »

A very interesting situation.

I think with a careful reading of the rules, it's clear that the Cavalry in this case CANNOT intercept.

The key passages are on p63.

The interception charge can only go ahead if either of the following apply:

1. it crosses the path of the charging enemy BG. In this case it would have to move to a position beyond the front of the Spears. Remember that the interception charge can only be directly ahead (with exceptions).

or

2. contact the flank or rear of the charging BG. This clearly does not apply.

Now then, the question becomes, 'can the interception push the LF out of the way'? No it can't. Even if the LF don't pass a CMT to stand, they have to evade. The full turn sequence (p168) makes it clear that interceptions charges must be completed before evade moves are made. So in this case, even if the LF evade, they would do so after the Cavalry interception charge.

Therefore, the cavalry cannot intercept.

But i could be wrong...
ars_belli
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 540
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:18 pm
Location: USA

Post by ars_belli »

Luddite wrote:A very interesting situation.

I think with a careful reading of the rules, it's clear that the Cavalry in this case CANNOT intercept.
Agree 100% with everyone else. It is not enough for the path of the Carthaginian cavalry to hypothetically cross that of the charging Seleucids. They also have to be able to physically reach them, which is impossible because their own LF are in the way.

Cheers,
Scott
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28288
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

ars_belli wrote:
Luddite wrote:A very interesting situation.

I think with a careful reading of the rules, it's clear that the Cavalry in this case CANNOT intercept.
Agree 100% with everyone else. It is not enough for the path of the Carthaginian cavalry to hypothetically cross that of the charging Seleucids. They also have to be able to physically reach them, which is impossible because the LF are in the way.
Correct
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”