Bolstering

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Bugle999
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 11:16 am
Location: London (S.E.) UK

Bolstering

Post by Bugle999 »

1. Can a General 'move and then Bolster' in the JAP phase.
2. Can a General 'Bolster and then move' in the JAP phase.
3. If he can 'move and then bolster' can he do the following:
a) He is fighting in the front rank with a BG that breaks as well as also autobroken (less than 50%), he makes the initial rout with the BG at the end of the melee phase. At the start of the JAP phase (I believe) he is free to move away to any unit within 7 MU's. If this unit is Disorganised (not this turn) can he then Bolster the new unit?
b) Is there anything preventing the General from moving away after the initial rout - even if the pursuers stay in contact?

MTIA
gavin
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 1:42 pm

Post by gavin »

Not got my book handy, but I'm sure officer movement is before Bolstering so don't see why he can't move then bolster.

not sure about a or b though
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

In the JAP movement of commanders is before bolstering.

To question 3a - yes, I believe that is OK.

To 3b - I think he can move away in the JAP.
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4236
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Post by terrys »

1) Yes
2) No
3a) Yes
3b) No
willb
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:26 am

Post by willb »

terrys wrote:1) Yes
2) No
3a) Yes
3b) No
with regards to 3b - is that no, there is nothing to prevent him leaving, or is it no, he may not leave the routing unit.
mannmarke
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:02 pm
Location: Melbourne OZ

Post by mannmarke »

He may leave the unit.

Mark
WhiteKnight
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: yeovil somerset

Post by WhiteKnight »

I think that in the JAP the general can leave the routing BG even if the pursuers are still in contact.

Will he first have to have tested in the JAP for being for (not) being killed in the pursuit before he leaves? No rules with me so not sure.

Martin
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

WhiteKnight wrote:I think that in the JAP the general can leave the routing BG even if the pursuers are still in contact.

Will he first have to have tested in the JAP for being for (not) being killed in the pursuit before he leaves? No rules with me so not sure.

Martin
That is correct
daveallen
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:21 am

Post by daveallen »

Will he first have to have tested in the JAP for being for (not) being killed in the pursuit before he leaves? No rules with me so not sure
In the JAP commanders move before rout moves so don't test for being lost (unless they stay with the routers of course). See the Full Turn Sequence on page 168.

Dave
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4236
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Post by terrys »

with regards to 3b - is that no, there is nothing to prevent him leaving, or is it no, he may not leave the routing unit.
I was answering the question asked - No, there is nothing to prevent him leaving.

In the JAP commanders move before rout moves so don't test for being lost (unless they stay with the routers of course). See the Full Turn Sequence on page 168.
The roll for killing a general is made at the end of any pursuit move.
This means that you always get one roll of a 10+ to kill a general with a routing general, but only get a second one if he's mad enough to stay with them.
NB charging an already routing BG doesn't give you this roll (or auto-remove a base), you only get it if you are still in contact after you 'pursue'
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4236
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Post by terrys »

with regards to 3b - is that no, there is nothing to prevent him leaving, or is it no, he may not leave the routing unit.
I was strictly answering the question, so - no, there is nothing to prevent him leaving
In the JAP commanders move before rout moves so don't test for being lost (unless they stay with the routers of course). See the Full Turn Sequence on page 168.
The base removal and the roll to injure the general is made at the end of any 'pursuit move' if the BGs are still in contact. So you always get at least one chance to kill him on a 10+, but he will normally move away before the second pursuit move is made.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”