So I claim that the rules are right and the diagrams are misleadinggozerius wrote:The point is, we don't discard the information given in the diagram because we think something else should have happened.
Page 175 shows bases not turning 90 because they are blocked by another battlegroup which has charged the target's rear. They do not turn 180. Your claim that the rule allows both is disproven by the statement that the bases contacted by the flank charge would turn 90 if there was room to do so, but they do not turn at all. It goes further to say that both contacted bases fight, which I don't like, but that's what the rules say, so I'm stuck with it. The diagram shows the final position of all battlegroups involved in the combat, it does not show interim steps, like stepping forward because they are irrelevant in this case.
The charge depicted in the OP is a flank charge as defined on page 60, not a rear charge, so you don't turn 180. That's just lazy carryover from V1 when flank and rear charges weren't defined, and by convention people just did whatever seemed best. We now have defined parameters for both flank charges and rear charges and the example of play clearly shows that bases contacted by a flank charge do NOT turn 180. I accept the examples of play as integral to the rules. To choose to ignore them is presumptuous and places you in an awkward position of defending the rules against themselves.
You claim the diagrams are right and the rules are misleading
The rules clearly state it is possible to turn 180 degrees to meet a flank charge yet you insistently seem to claim they don't?