Fog v2 Charge Example

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Lycanthropic
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:48 pm

Fog v2 Charge Example

Post by Lycanthropic »

There is a lovely full page 3 diagram example of an Elephant battlegroup charging a Light Horse battlegroup that I can honestly admit is confusing as hell. (Sorry no page number, look in the yellow section :twisted: )
Firstly the LH bg chooses to evade directly to its rear instead of evading away from the declared charge direction (directly ahead), so after evading it is actually still in a direct path of the elephants. But the warpigs choose to wheel to chase the LH instead of charging directly ahead because....the evaders chose not to evade along the declared path?
Then the Elephants move in the third diagram is an insane move where you can clearly see the ruler is not used to measure the outside corner to corner - nor any part of the charge is measured in part, just lay down the charge distance stick and move the battlegroup with one move. I've tried to replicate this on the table and WHOA these warpigs can move!!!
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Fog v2 Charge Example

Post by zoltan »

Page 9-16 of digital version.

So your point appears to be that the illustration seems to differ from current practice whereby the elephants must execute their wheel by pivoting on one forward corner in and arc-shaped move before they move in a straight line. If you look closely at the diagram I think the BG has gone the correct distance and has moved over slightly to reflect where it would end up allowing for the arc-move. So I think the rule writers have probably used a simplified illustration rather than try and illustrate the two steps of 1. wheel in and arc and 2. move straight ahead.
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Re: Fog v2 Charge Example

Post by grahambriggs »

Lycanthropic wrote:after evading it is actually still in a direct path of the elephants. But the warpigs choose to wheel to chase the LH instead of charging directly ahead because....the evaders chose not to evade along the declared path?
There have been threads before concerning what "the path" actually means. Some hold that it's the specified direction independent of distance. Others that the path stops once the charge distance is reached.

Rightly or wrongly I think the wheel is because all of the targets have evaded, so the chargers can wheel in an attempt to catch them (which rarely succeeds in my experience).
bbotus
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
Location: Alaska

Re: Fog v2 Charge Example

Post by bbotus »

Lycanthropic wrote:There is a lovely full page 3 diagram example of an Elephant battlegroup charging a Light Horse battlegroup that I can honestly admit is confusing as hell. (Sorry no page number, look in the yellow section :twisted: )
Page 71, V2.
Firstly the LH bg chooses to evade directly to its rear instead of evading away from the declared charge direction (directly ahead), so after evading it is actually still in a direct path of the elephants.

Nice catch. It is still in the direct path of the elephants. Therefore 1st bullet on page 58 takes precedent. Since all targets evaded, the elephants may wheel up to 1 MU but no more. It is clear in diagram 3 that they wheeled more than 1 MU (Errata needed).
Then the Elephants move in the third diagram is an insane move where you can clearly see the ruler is not used to measure the outside corner to corner - nor any part of the charge is measured in part, just lay down the charge distance stick and move the battlegroup with one move. I've tried to replicate this on the table and WHOA these warpigs can move!!!]
This isn't an insane move. It is a tiny bit too far. The rule on page 44 says wheeling units measure the distance as a straight line from start to end position of the wheeling corner. I didn't pull out my geometry tables but the forward distance difference has to be less then a millimeter or 2. So back up the elephants skosh. In practical terms on the table, no one moves their troops that accurately all the time no matter how hard they try.

Note to Graham:
Others that the path stops once the charge distance is reached.

Really? So they maintain that if the charge target evades directly away further than their charge distance, then they are allowed to wheel? First I've heard that one.
Lycanthropic
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:48 pm

Re: Fog v2 Charge Example

Post by Lycanthropic »

I interpret it as there is a difference between evading along the path of the charge and choosing to evade directly back. In my opinion the LH chose to evade directly back so the warpigs can choose to:-

1. Charge straight ahead
2. Charge straight ahead with 1" wheel in any direction (because all targets evaded)
3. Charge with a full wheel to chase because the evader did not evade along the declared charge path. (not that the evaders are still in the charge path, but that they did not evade along the charge path)

Interestingly if another enemy battlegroup was just below the light horse in the first diagram (and out of charge range), the warpigs would convert into it. Negating the ability of the LH to perform the "charge me and only me" dance.
bbotus
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
Location: Alaska

Re: Fog v2 Charge Example

Post by bbotus »

3. Charge with a full wheel to chase because the evader did not evade along the declared charge path. (not that the evaders are still in the charge path, but that they did not evade along the charge path)
What is your justification for this statement? I can't find anything in the book that allows such a move.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”