Lycanthropic wrote:There is a lovely full page 3 diagram example of an Elephant battlegroup charging a Light Horse battlegroup that I can honestly admit is confusing as hell. (Sorry no page number, look in the yellow section

)
Page 71, V2.
Firstly the LH bg chooses to evade directly to its rear instead of evading away from the declared charge direction (directly ahead), so after evading it is actually still in a direct path of the elephants.
Nice catch. It is still in the direct path of the elephants. Therefore 1st bullet on page 58 takes precedent. Since all targets evaded, the elephants may wheel up to 1 MU but no more. It is clear in diagram 3 that they wheeled more than 1 MU (Errata needed).
Then the Elephants move in the third diagram is an insane move where you can clearly see the ruler is not used to measure the outside corner to corner - nor any part of the charge is measured in part, just lay down the charge distance stick and move the battlegroup with one move. I've tried to replicate this on the table and WHOA these warpigs can move!!!]
This isn't an insane move. It is a tiny bit too far. The rule on page 44 says wheeling units measure the distance as a straight line from start to end position of the wheeling corner. I didn't pull out my geometry tables but the forward distance difference has to be less then a millimeter or 2. So back up the elephants skosh. In practical terms on the table, no one moves their troops that accurately all the time no matter how hard they try.
Note to Graham:
Others that the path stops once the charge distance is reached.
Really? So they maintain that if the charge target evades directly away further than their charge distance, then they are allowed to wheel? First I've heard that one.