Orb

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
gerryb
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 9:57 pm

Orb

Post by gerryb »

in the game we played tonight Mark placed a BG of LH behind but within 2" my Defensive spear BG.

In my turn I took a CMT which I passed and placed the BG into ORB formation .

The question is are the enemy LH affected by the defensive Spear BG's Zone of Influence ???
markm
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 11:21 am

Post by markm »

Bump
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28321
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Orb

Post by rbodleyscott »

gerryb wrote:in the game we played tonight Mark placed a BG of LH behind but within 2" my Defensive spear BG.

In my turn I took a CMT which I passed and placed the BG into ORB formation .

The question is are the enemy LH affected by the defensive Spear BG's Zone of Influence ???
You mean "Restricted Area" presumably.

We have not decided how exactly to change the rules. As the rules presently stand the orb has a front and that is where its Restricted Area is. Whether we change it to being all round, or not to exist at all has not yet been decided.

We also need to clarify that ORBs cannot intecept.
jre
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Post by jre »

I thought that was not a problem because an Orb cannot charge.

José
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28321
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

jre wrote:I thought that was not a problem because an Orb cannot charge.

José
Correct, but it would be better to clarify it by stating it explicitly in the ORB section.
markm
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 11:21 am

Post by markm »

Yeh,

it came up because the restricted area is 2" but in orb you can only move 1". Didn't affect the game in any meaningful way.
jre
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Post by jre »

I think the recent rules change clear most of my doubts about Orbs. My main concern now is that it makes the optimum Orb size 5-8 bases, as you will have as many dice as the enemy, while 9-12 will (normally) roll one die less than the enemy in melee.

I still would prefer Hedgehog/Porcupine to Orb, Vegetius or not Vegetius...

José
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”