Shock troops against portable defences

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Hermano
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:27 pm

Shock troops against portable defences

Post by Hermano »

Hello,
mounted shock troops do they test to not charge against foot behind stakes? (I hope not, because they might be impetous but not idiot).
Is it possible to place stakes when enemy are less than 6MU? (if yes, it is a bit odd. Imagine to place stakes on the groung while horses are charging and they are few meters to you. Doesn't seem real).
david53
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2859
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Shock troops against portable defences

Post by david53 »

Hermano wrote:Hello,
mounted shock troops do they test to not charge against foot behind stakes? (I hope not, because they might be impetous but not idiot).
Is it possible to place stakes when enemy are less than 6MU? (if yes, it is a bit odd. Imagine to place stakes on the groung while horses are charging and they are few meters to you. Doesn't seem real).
Yes they test

and

Yes they can
Hermano
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:27 pm

MH!

Post by Hermano »

Are you sure?
I read in the rulebook that shock troops doesnt test to not charge against foot behind fortification.
Portable defences are considered as fortification, so i guess shock troops dont charge spontaneously.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

Fortifications are fortifications portable defences are portable defences. Think this is in the FAQ. Since shock will not charge into going the treat as bad, and when in contact with PD they do not count as in good going it should be
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
david53
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2859
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: MH!

Post by david53 »

Hermano wrote:Are you sure?
I read in the rulebook that shock troops doesnt test to not charge against foot behind fortification.
Portable defences are considered as fortification, so i guess shock troops dont charge spontaneously.
Its in the FAQ page two the part about shock charging PF.
AlanCutner
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by AlanCutner »

Just want to check - can a BG that tested successfully to place PO, move and place them? Or must they be stationary?
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3857
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Post by dave_r »

The rules are remarkably quiet about that.

I'd also like to know if you can unform Orb and then move...
Evaluator of Supremacy
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

A battle group carrying PD can place them (or pick them up) in the manoeuvre phase as a full complex move.

The last 4 words make it clear that it is all the BG can do.

Must admit I'm not so sure about the Orb query - I suspect it is supposed to be stationary, however, I can't spot anything that says :?
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

An Orb cannot move in the same turn it leaves but has the option to face in any of its directions

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3857
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Post by dave_r »

shall wrote:An Orb cannot move in the same turn it leaves but has the option to face in any of its directions

Si
Can you just point me where in the rules it states this?
Evaluator of Supremacy
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

shall wrote:An Orb cannot move in the same turn it leaves but has the option to face in any of its directions

Si
"has the option to face in any of its directions" what a pointless statement for a square
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

?? surely quite useful - you can form up to old front, side or rear having escaped your crisis .... I ahve only formed orb 4 times and only left it once but I did it facing sideways and it helped.

Dave .... in the section on orb it says you can do this when leaving orb. Don't think it says anywhere you can do 2 CMTs in a move and it takes 1 CMT to leave orb, or 1 to turn and move as drilled which they can't from orb without first getting into normal formation. So your move is over after the CMT and what you are thereby allowed to do. Otherwise why not turn and move, and do another move after that CMT ??

I guess you could make a second move if outside 6MU.

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3857
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Post by dave_r »

shall wrote:Dave .... in the section on orb it says you can do this when leaving orb. Don't think it says anywhere you can do 2 CMTs in a move and it takes 1 CMT to leave orb, or 1 to turn and move as drilled which they can't from orb without first getting into normal formation. So your move is over after the CMT and what you are thereby allowed to do. Otherwise why not turn and move, and do another move after that CMT ??

I guess you could make a second move if outside 6MU.

Si
I understand you can only carry out one manoever in a turn, but what is to stop you unforming Orb (1 CMT) and then moving forward as a simple advance?
Evaluator of Supremacy
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Perhaps he is - will take another look.

Must say I have never played it that way.

But then you don't see orbs often so fairly irrelevant.

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3857
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Post by dave_r »

I don't really think it should be played this way either. Because there is also nothing to stop you moving and then setting up Orb.

Probably one for the FAQ's as it simply isn't there what should be happening.

Incidentally, the "Dave is Right" is my signature now that Mr Briggs was daft enough to say something like that on the intertent. I belive Hammy has now suspended Graham from posting on the Slitherine forum :)
Evaluator of Supremacy
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

The reason I have always ruled yo can't do either is that the rules say what you can do. If we wrote down everything you can't it would be qite a tome.
  • Anytime a CMT is mentioned in the rules, we define what you get for that CMT in total. So for drilled foot we say you can turn AND move for a CMT.
    In Orb we say you leave or from orb with CMT, and this therefore is all you get for that CMT. Had we wanted you to be able to mvoe as well we would have said so, consistently with other CMTs.
    So the question is rather where do we say you can unform and move - it dosnt. Nor does it say the Orb can't fly over opposing troops....
    As you cay otherwise you could move and form Orb. And indeed if you extend such a the logic that CMT then allowed a free move, you could turn and move and move as drilled foot ...
    Hence always best to think of a CMT giving you just what is mentioned and your CTM move is over.
    Probably should have put FULL complex move we did wth POs
No doubt you 1000+ expert players will find an anomally in no time to keep me awake!

Happy to bounce it off Richard and Terry and see if they see it the same and then FAQ it, but Orbs not worth vasat amounts of effort.

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3857
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Post by dave_r »

Happy to bounce it off Richard and Terry and see if they see it the same and then FAQ it, but Orbs not worth vsat amounts of effort.
I think we have found the root of the problem :)
Evaluator of Supremacy
babyshark
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 1336
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: Government; and I'm here to help.

Post by babyshark »

dave_r wrote: Incidentally, the "Dave is Right" is my signature now that Mr Briggs was daft enough to say something like that on the intertent. I belive Hammy has now suspended Graham from posting on the Slitherine forum :)
All the moderators have communicated on this issue, and have decided to make it a forum policy: anyone daft enough to agree with Mr. Ruddock is permanently removed from the forum.

:D

Marc
kal5056
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 11:35 pm

Post by kal5056 »

It is about time we got this ruling from an author:

"Nor does it say the Orb can't fly over opposing troops...."

Finally Rich Olier's Macedonians may be beatable.

Gino
SMAC
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Glad to have been of assistance :D

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”