Shock troops against portable defences
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
Shock troops against portable defences
Hello,
mounted shock troops do they test to not charge against foot behind stakes? (I hope not, because they might be impetous but not idiot).
Is it possible to place stakes when enemy are less than 6MU? (if yes, it is a bit odd. Imagine to place stakes on the groung while horses are charging and they are few meters to you. Doesn't seem real).
mounted shock troops do they test to not charge against foot behind stakes? (I hope not, because they might be impetous but not idiot).
Is it possible to place stakes when enemy are less than 6MU? (if yes, it is a bit odd. Imagine to place stakes on the groung while horses are charging and they are few meters to you. Doesn't seem real).
Re: Shock troops against portable defences
Yes they testHermano wrote:Hello,
mounted shock troops do they test to not charge against foot behind stakes? (I hope not, because they might be impetous but not idiot).
Is it possible to place stakes when enemy are less than 6MU? (if yes, it is a bit odd. Imagine to place stakes on the groung while horses are charging and they are few meters to you. Doesn't seem real).
and
Yes they can
MH!
Are you sure?
I read in the rulebook that shock troops doesnt test to not charge against foot behind fortification.
Portable defences are considered as fortification, so i guess shock troops dont charge spontaneously.
I read in the rulebook that shock troops doesnt test to not charge against foot behind fortification.
Portable defences are considered as fortification, so i guess shock troops dont charge spontaneously.
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8835
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Fortifications are fortifications portable defences are portable defences. Think this is in the FAQ. Since shock will not charge into going the treat as bad, and when in contact with PD they do not count as in good going it should be
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
Re: MH!
Its in the FAQ page two the part about shock charging PF.Hermano wrote:Are you sure?
I read in the rulebook that shock troops doesnt test to not charge against foot behind fortification.
Portable defences are considered as fortification, so i guess shock troops dont charge spontaneously.
-
- Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
- Posts: 437
- Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:42 pm
- Location: Scotland
-
- Field of Glory Moderator
- Posts: 10287
- Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
- Location: LarryWorld
A battle group carrying PD can place them (or pick them up) in the manoeuvre phase as a full complex move.
The last 4 words make it clear that it is all the BG can do.
Must admit I'm not so sure about the Orb query - I suspect it is supposed to be stationary, however, I can't spot anything that says

Nik Gaukroger
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
?? surely quite useful - you can form up to old front, side or rear having escaped your crisis .... I ahve only formed orb 4 times and only left it once but I did it facing sideways and it helped.
Dave .... in the section on orb it says you can do this when leaving orb. Don't think it says anywhere you can do 2 CMTs in a move and it takes 1 CMT to leave orb, or 1 to turn and move as drilled which they can't from orb without first getting into normal formation. So your move is over after the CMT and what you are thereby allowed to do. Otherwise why not turn and move, and do another move after that CMT ??
I guess you could make a second move if outside 6MU.
Si
Dave .... in the section on orb it says you can do this when leaving orb. Don't think it says anywhere you can do 2 CMTs in a move and it takes 1 CMT to leave orb, or 1 to turn and move as drilled which they can't from orb without first getting into normal formation. So your move is over after the CMT and what you are thereby allowed to do. Otherwise why not turn and move, and do another move after that CMT ??
I guess you could make a second move if outside 6MU.
Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
I understand you can only carry out one manoever in a turn, but what is to stop you unforming Orb (1 CMT) and then moving forward as a simple advance?shall wrote:Dave .... in the section on orb it says you can do this when leaving orb. Don't think it says anywhere you can do 2 CMTs in a move and it takes 1 CMT to leave orb, or 1 to turn and move as drilled which they can't from orb without first getting into normal formation. So your move is over after the CMT and what you are thereby allowed to do. Otherwise why not turn and move, and do another move after that CMT ??
I guess you could make a second move if outside 6MU.
Si
Evaluator of Supremacy
I don't really think it should be played this way either. Because there is also nothing to stop you moving and then setting up Orb.
Probably one for the FAQ's as it simply isn't there what should be happening.
Incidentally, the "Dave is Right" is my signature now that Mr Briggs was daft enough to say something like that on the intertent. I belive Hammy has now suspended Graham from posting on the Slitherine forum
Probably one for the FAQ's as it simply isn't there what should be happening.
Incidentally, the "Dave is Right" is my signature now that Mr Briggs was daft enough to say something like that on the intertent. I belive Hammy has now suspended Graham from posting on the Slitherine forum

Evaluator of Supremacy
The reason I have always ruled yo can't do either is that the rules say what you can do. If we wrote down everything you can't it would be qite a tome.
Happy to bounce it off Richard and Terry and see if they see it the same and then FAQ it, but Orbs not worth vasat amounts of effort.
Si
- Anytime a CMT is mentioned in the rules, we define what you get for that CMT in total. So for drilled foot we say you can turn AND move for a CMT.
In Orb we say you leave or from orb with CMT, and this therefore is all you get for that CMT. Had we wanted you to be able to mvoe as well we would have said so, consistently with other CMTs.
So the question is rather where do we say you can unform and move - it dosnt. Nor does it say the Orb can't fly over opposing troops....
As you cay otherwise you could move and form Orb. And indeed if you extend such a the logic that CMT then allowed a free move, you could turn and move and move as drilled foot ...
Hence always best to think of a CMT giving you just what is mentioned and your CTM move is over.
Probably should have put FULL complex move we did wth POs
Happy to bounce it off Richard and Terry and see if they see it the same and then FAQ it, but Orbs not worth vasat amounts of effort.
Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
-
- Field of Glory Moderator
- Posts: 1336
- Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:59 pm
- Location: Government; and I'm here to help.
All the moderators have communicated on this issue, and have decided to make it a forum policy: anyone daft enough to agree with Mr. Ruddock is permanently removed from the forum.dave_r wrote: Incidentally, the "Dave is Right" is my signature now that Mr Briggs was daft enough to say something like that on the intertent. I belive Hammy has now suspended Graham from posting on the Slitherine forum

Marc