Thanks




Moderators: Slitherine Core, FoG PC Moderator, NewRoSoft
I read the help file in game and it states that in melee swordsmen doesn't count versus spear/pike that is steady.CharlesRobinson wrote:Just checking on some stats - Had a weird game play - Elite Armoured Roman vs Average Protected Hoplite - face to face strait on attack. Both of us had frineds on left and right flanks. I should have had the advantage - but the said I was 2 below the Hoplites. The unit showed Elite Armoured Impact Foot/Swordsmen+ and the Hoplites as Average Protected Spearmen, but they got POA for "pike/spear" and there was no listed for any of my Romans for the Swordsmen+ for POA. My Romans were slaughtered and not a single hoplite went down. Is this stuff programmed right?
Thanks
![]()
![]()
![]()
The difference is that a number of people are fielding Superior/armored/offensive spearmen which makes a hell of a difference. In the pre-built scenarios wherever the superior/armored ones were used then they did well as long as they survived the impact. Curretly romans still make chop liver of Avg/Prot spear from my experience.CharlesRobinson wrote:That game was several back now so no, I do not have a screen shot. I udnerstand the rules now on that and yes I did get armour - but it does lead to another question - I think one of the reasons that I was so shocked by the results was that I had gotten used to man handling Carthaginian spearman in the historical games which have the same stats. Why is it that the Carthaginians seem to fold easier with the same stats? (Average/Protected/Offensive Spearmen)
Thanks!
If you are talking about spear/pike charging shock mounted than they lose their POA. That is why I won't charge with Pikes.petergarnett wrote:I may have this one wrong but in impact combat I charged a lancer cav which was already in combat with another unit - yet the ccav got the POA for charging in the open v foot. Surely that should not happen as they are standing still.
The lance POA counts in the open whether the lancers charged or not in the TT rules. The TT rules intentionally discourage foot from charging shock mounted. I think the PC behaves the same way.petergarnett wrote:No I mean the lancers POA - the lancers are standing still - they should not get the +POA simply because they have been charged. You should be able to charge with your pike as both have lost the impact +POA - but I can't remember how the TT rules apply this.