Search found 56 matches
- Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:50 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Clarification on CMT
- Replies: 10
- Views: 1608
Re: Clarification on CMT
Ah, yes, adding an 'ly' to that changes the meaning of the entire sentence and clarifies things. In light of the other statements, I suspect you're right about the original intention.
- Tue Jul 10, 2012 7:45 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Clarification on CMT
- Replies: 10
- Views: 1608
Re: Clarification on CMT
What throws me off is this... pg 41 "... does not require a Command Point for the first CMT taken in any phase. Additonal CMTs are rolled for as normal except that they are passed on a 4+ instead of the usual 5+." The implication of the bolded chunk (my bolding) is that the first CMT is no...
- Mon Jun 25, 2012 6:59 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: My Rule Questions
- Replies: 5
- Views: 1505
Re: My Rule Questions
Aha, thanks. Got me on the right page... "If no new target is available the assaulting ... unit completes it full move distance in the direction of the original assault..."
- Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:35 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: My Rule Questions
- Replies: 5
- Views: 1505
Re: My Rule Questions
Question from today's battle... Cavalry declares a charge on a Wavering cavalry unit (about 9MU away). Wavering unit fails the Cohesion check, breaks, and does a rout move and moves back out of assault range. There are no other targets for the charging cavalry to change to... does it still move forw...
- Thu May 31, 2012 9:58 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: My Rule Questions
- Replies: 5
- Views: 1505
My Rule Questions
A thread for questions I've got upon reading the rules, to which a search of the forum or rules don't seem give an answer. First up... In the Assault Phase, if you fail a CMT to assault, am I correct in assuming you cannot later move that unit in the Movement Phase of the same turn? Or, having faile...
- Wed May 30, 2012 6:17 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Foot Artillery Charged:???
- Replies: 33
- Views: 6611
Re: Foot Artillery Charged:???
It's not excluded, and thus falls under "all other troops".
That list is of infantry or cavalry that, due to specific circumstances, no longer qualify for use of the Tactical line.
That list is of infantry or cavalry that, due to specific circumstances, no longer qualify for use of the Tactical line.
- Wed May 30, 2012 4:00 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: measuring range
- Replies: 28
- Views: 4078
Re: measuring range
Don't the French still have to split their dice? They just have to put maximum dice on the close target, before assigning dice to the medium range target (pg 51). Also, would they be able to trace a line from both front corners to the grenadiers (it's not clear if their final position might have led...
- Wed May 30, 2012 3:43 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: clarify intercept charge
- Replies: 18
- Views: 3240
Re: clarify intercept charge
My understanding is that they move a minimum of 2 MU (or half the distance between them and the target). Minimum, not maximum. So since the French start 3.5MU away, the interceptors would have to move a minimum of 1.75MU... but as you say, that doesn't bring them in the way of the French. So they co...
- Wed May 30, 2012 3:23 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: clarify intercept charge
- Replies: 18
- Views: 3240
Re: clarify intercept charge
Note, it's a minimum of 2MU (not a maximum) they have to move... they can, and in this case would have to, move more than that.
- Tue May 29, 2012 11:51 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: measuring range
- Replies: 28
- Views: 4078
Re: measuring range
Can anyone point me to where it defines "seeing" a unit? I'm having trouble finding where line of sight is defined. I know range is from any part of the unit to any part of the target, but how do you determine if you can see the target (for fire or assaults), and when you lose dice due to ...
- Tue May 29, 2012 11:47 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: clarify intercept charge
- Replies: 18
- Views: 3240
Re: clarify intercept charge
it goes on to say that the interceptors only move 1/2 move if they are not going to contact the chargers flank or rear It says if you're not going to contact the flank or rear, you have to move a minimum of 2 MU if cavalry, or 1/2 way towards if less. The assaulting unit then moves into contact wit...
- Tue May 29, 2012 9:49 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Fire Combat Clarification
- Replies: 3
- Views: 834
Re: Fire Combat Clarification
We interpreted that as "Retire to 3 MU if closer, or Retire if wavering, or otherwise no advance." That is, wavering units have to roll on the Outcome Moves (D6+4). This is based on pg 55, LH point 4, where it says that if no fire is at close range, the wavering unit retires (and if any fi...
- Tue May 29, 2012 7:23 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Foot Artillery Charged:???
- Replies: 33
- Views: 6611
Re: Foot Artillery Charged:???
One thing this does explain is why there is a line on the combat tables for fighting guns. I could never figure out why, when, or how you would ever be fighting guns. If in a pursuit, your pursuing unit contacts the artillery during the first half of the pursuit move, the artillery won't get a Reac...
- Tue May 29, 2012 7:17 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: More Questions on Obstacles
- Replies: 7
- Views: 1657
Re: More Questions on Obstacles
I would rule the CMT must be taken to move across the obstacle and it would be as an assault in the Assault Phase, with Defensive Fire taken against the attackers at the obstacle (with benefit of cover) and if passed the assaulters are moved into contact straddling the obstacle if necessary, withou...
- Fri Oct 29, 2010 5:39 am
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: Who do you pursue?
- Replies: 3
- Views: 655
- Wed May 06, 2009 3:28 pm
- Forum: Field of Glory : Napoleonic Era 1792-1815 : General Discussion
- Topic: Beta Testers Wanted!
- Replies: 70
- Views: 32158
- Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:22 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: 3rd rank LF archers support
- Replies: 26
- Views: 5907
- Wed Jul 09, 2008 5:50 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: charge distance question
- Replies: 11
- Views: 2457
If you have cavalry lancers facing light horse and a move of 6 MU (i.e. the 4 MU uneven terrain move plus a maximum VMD boost) would mean the lancer would enter uneven terrain then the lancers will not be forced to charge. If the uneven terrain is more than 6MU but less than 7 MU the lancers would ...
- Wed Jul 09, 2008 4:57 pm
- Forum: Rules Questions
- Topic: charge distance question
- Replies: 11
- Views: 2457
- Wed Jul 09, 2008 3:37 pm
- Forum: Field of Glory AAR's
- Topic: Mid-Republic Romans vs. Late Carthaginians (1000 pt battle)
- Replies: 6
- Views: 6190
THE END GAME Roman Turn Nine (Rome 8/17AP, Carthage 8/17AP) http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3058/2646632673_c93eebeb5d.jpg Still a draw, thanks to the rallying of another scutarii by Carthage. Not much to say at this point - the wings are mucked up in battles with Rome managing to hold the advantage...