commanders movement ?

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Rattleshirt
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New Jersey

commanders movement ?

Post by Rattleshirt »

This came up in a game last night... my opponent and I searched our rules but couldn't find a definitive answer so...

My commander moves with a BG he's attached to and includes a "second move" during the maneuver phase. Later during my JAP of the same turn, my commander wants to run off and join a new BG.

According to my opponent and I, this would allow that particular commander "three moves" during my turn. The first with the BG he's attached to, followed immediately by that BG's second move. Then, a "third" move during the JAP.

We thought this seemed like a lot, so we rolled for it and decided that for that game at least, the commanders wouldn't have the option of a JAP move if they were involved in a "second" move that turn.

Were we in the right, or did our commanders miss out on their God given right to move quite a bit?! Thanks!
* Winter is coming. *
ColeF
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:09 pm
Location: Sunny South

Post by ColeF »

I believe a third move is legal, but I don't have the rules in front of me.
Computers are fast, accurate and stupid. Humans are incredibly slow inaccurate and brilliant. Albert Einstein
daleivan
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Post by daleivan »

Commanders can move in both the owning player's JAP and the opponent's JAP. And during the maneuver phase they (and an accompanying battle group if there is one with them) may make a second move as you note, as long as they remain beyond 6 MUs from any enemy during that second move. So, in theory, a commander could make four moves during an entire turn--two in their own maneuver phase, one during their joint action phase and one during their opponent's JAP. Pretty nifty.

Dale
Rattleshirt
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by Rattleshirt »

Thanks Dale, that's pretty much what I was looking for. I suppose the question arose b/c it isn't specifically stated "yes, this is possible" in the rulebook.

I definitely enjoy that opening rush of the game where I juggle commanders between BG and get my battle line in place alot earlier than my opponent anticipates. Good stuff!
* Winter is coming. *
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”