LF EVADE
Moderators: philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design
LF EVADE
Hi,
last night we have got an interresting situation. A BG of LF charged by a KN. Behind him a ennemi unit of Defensive Spearmen ( less than 1MU)
According to the rules, The LF cannot evade through her. What Happen?
the LF turn 180 and when he see the unit he stoppe moving? result REAR Charge...
Or did he doesn't move at all, without turning 180? result front charge.
last night we have got an interresting situation. A BG of LF charged by a KN. Behind him a ennemi unit of Defensive Spearmen ( less than 1MU)
According to the rules, The LF cannot evade through her. What Happen?
the LF turn 180 and when he see the unit he stoppe moving? result REAR Charge...
Or did he doesn't move at all, without turning 180? result front charge.
Olivier Marceau
early carthage
later carthage
HWY continental
WOTR Yorkish, Tudor and Lancastre
Perses Sassanids
Francais Ordonnance
early carthage
later carthage
HWY continental
WOTR Yorkish, Tudor and Lancastre
Perses Sassanids
Francais Ordonnance
-
- Captain - Heavy Cruiser
- Posts: 901
- Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
- Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Re: LF EVADE
Why couldn't the LF evade through the defensive spear? What prevented this?
Re: LF EVADE
Enemy def spear. Light foot are caught.
Gino
SMAC
Gino
SMAC
-
- Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
- Posts: 3436
- Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:39 pm
- Location: Chelmsford, Essex, England
Re: LF EVADE
Zoltan, think Richie Mccaw at the breakdown - you don't expect to see him lying on your side of of the ball so you can't move it back - same principle...
Re: LF EVADE
thanks GIno, but caught by a rear charge or a front charge??kal5056 wrote:Enemy def spear. Light foot are caught.
Gino
SMAC
Olivier Marceau
early carthage
later carthage
HWY continental
WOTR Yorkish, Tudor and Lancastre
Perses Sassanids
Francais Ordonnance
early carthage
later carthage
HWY continental
WOTR Yorkish, Tudor and Lancastre
Perses Sassanids
Francais Ordonnance
-
- Captain - Heavy Cruiser
- Posts: 901
- Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
- Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Re: LF EVADE
Doh, mist da word 'ennemi'.timmy1 wrote:Zoltan, think Richie Mccaw at the breakdown - you don't expect to see him lying on your side of of the ball so you can't move it back - same principle...
-
- Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
- Posts: 1966
- Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am
Re: LF EVADE
I would think 'rear' as they must attempt to evade and then stop.zeitoun wrote:thanks GIno, but caught by a rear charge or a front charge??kal5056 wrote:Enemy def spear. Light foot are caught.
Gino
SMAC
-
- Captain - Heavy Cruiser
- Posts: 901
- Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
- Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Re: LF EVADE
Digital 9-18.
LF MUST evade and if they can't clear the ennemi Def Spear with their evade move (by shifting up to a base width etc) they must stop 1 MU from the Def Spear. If the Knights catch the LF they will be caught in the rear.
LF MUST evade and if they can't clear the ennemi Def Spear with their evade move (by shifting up to a base width etc) they must stop 1 MU from the Def Spear. If the Knights catch the LF they will be caught in the rear.
Re: LF EVADE
I think so.. but what happen if they start less than 1MU of the defspear..because P72 " must instead halt 1MU away from any enemy battle group in its path, with no shifting or contraction being allowed at all and if it starts closer to them than 1MU does not move at all. does it mean : no turn???ravenflight wrote:I would think 'rear' as they must attempt to evade and then stop.zeitoun wrote:thanks GIno, but caught by a rear charge or a front charge??kal5056 wrote:Enemy def spear. Light foot are caught.
Gino
SMAC
Olivier Marceau
early carthage
later carthage
HWY continental
WOTR Yorkish, Tudor and Lancastre
Perses Sassanids
Francais Ordonnance
early carthage
later carthage
HWY continental
WOTR Yorkish, Tudor and Lancastre
Perses Sassanids
Francais Ordonnance
-
- Captain - Heavy Cruiser
- Posts: 901
- Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
- Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Re: LF EVADE
It's one of those ambiguous Catch22 rules. Because the qualification regarding evaders starting within 1 MU of a blocking enemy not moving at all is nested as an exception rule, it implies that you must first be an evader before you can trigger that qualification. Yet if the ("starts within 1 MU") qualification is triggered you are not an evader ("does not move at all"). The latter suggests the LF remain facing the Knights and receive a frontal charge. Either way, the LF are dog tucker.
-
- Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
- Posts: 1966
- Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am
Re: LF EVADE
zeitoun wrote: I think so.. but what happen if they start less than 1MU of the defspear..because P72 " must instead halt 1MU away from any enemy battle group in its path, with no shifting or contraction being allowed at all and if it starts closer to them than 1MU does not move at all. does it mean : no turn???
If I were rulling it, I'd say that wording was assuming they started >1mu away, and so should be written '...if > than 1mu, or stop immediately if closer',however they still have to do the turn.
No matter what, they are going to attempt to evade. There appears to be no rule for your situation, so you just have to make the best of the situation by trying to read what the author's intent was.
Re: LF EVADE
It's a compulsory evade. Whether the LF turn or not is largely irrelevant, any evader that is caught by a pursuer is treated as a flank or rear charge (even if you contact them frontally).
Evaluator of Supremacy
-
- Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
- Posts: 1966
- Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am
Re: LF EVADE
Then can you chapter and verse the OP so they can find this?dave_r wrote:It's a compulsory evade. Whether the LF turn or not is largely irrelevant, any evader that is caught by a pursuer is treated as a flank or rear charge (even if you contact them frontally).
Re: LF EVADE
Can do 
Page 64: Attempts to charge or receive a charge with skirmishers: "A battle group entirely of light foot or light horse must evade a charge by enemy non-skirmishers unless either of the following reasons applies" (reasons are already being in combat and being in terrain.
This is repeated on page 69 under evade moves where it states "skirmishers must evade charging enemy non skirmishers" (also with the caveats above)
Page 72 details the evade and it states (first paragraph second column) - "must instead halt 1 MU away from any enemy battle group in it's path, with no shifting or contraction allowed at all, and if it starts closer to them than 1 MU, does not move at all"
Page 73 (last bullet point) states "Evaders who are contacted by chargers always count as having been charged in flank/rear".
Therefore in this scenario, the Light Foot would not be moved and even with the contact being frontal they are treated as being charged in the flank/rear.

Page 64: Attempts to charge or receive a charge with skirmishers: "A battle group entirely of light foot or light horse must evade a charge by enemy non-skirmishers unless either of the following reasons applies" (reasons are already being in combat and being in terrain.
This is repeated on page 69 under evade moves where it states "skirmishers must evade charging enemy non skirmishers" (also with the caveats above)
Page 72 details the evade and it states (first paragraph second column) - "must instead halt 1 MU away from any enemy battle group in it's path, with no shifting or contraction allowed at all, and if it starts closer to them than 1 MU, does not move at all"
Page 73 (last bullet point) states "Evaders who are contacted by chargers always count as having been charged in flank/rear".
Therefore in this scenario, the Light Foot would not be moved and even with the contact being frontal they are treated as being charged in the flank/rear.
Evaluator of Supremacy
Re: LF EVADE
I'm agree with this beautiful demonstration. 
thanks

thanks
Olivier Marceau
early carthage
later carthage
HWY continental
WOTR Yorkish, Tudor and Lancastre
Perses Sassanids
Francais Ordonnance
early carthage
later carthage
HWY continental
WOTR Yorkish, Tudor and Lancastre
Perses Sassanids
Francais Ordonnance
-
- Major-General - Jagdtiger
- Posts: 2961
- Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:52 pm
- Location: L'Empire Bête et Méchant!
- Contact:
Re: LF EVADE
As usual... Dave is really good!zeitoun wrote:I'm agree with this beautiful demonstration.
thanks

L'Empereur Bête et Méchant vous invite à visitez :
Le Blog : https://lempereurzoom13.blogspot.fr/
Le projet 2020 : http://2020batailledeloigny.blogspot.fr/
Cons se le disent!!!
Le Blog : https://lempereurzoom13.blogspot.fr/
Le projet 2020 : http://2020batailledeloigny.blogspot.fr/
Cons se le disent!!!
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8835
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Re: LF EVADE
LEmpereur wrote:As usual... Dave is really good!zeitoun wrote:I'm agree with this beautiful demonstration.
thanks

phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
-
- Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
- Posts: 1966
- Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am
Re: LF EVADE
philqw78 wrote:

-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8835
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Re: LF EVADE
Doubleplus 

phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!