Fighting in two directions.

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Ambrosius
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:01 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK.

Fighting in two directions.

Post by Ambrosius »

Hi folks,

If a BG joins an existing melee to an enemies' flank or rear, and the enemy has all of its elements committed. Does the enemy count as fighting in two directions or does the BG joining the melee only count as an overlap ?

I must admit I find the two direction rule a bit vague, or maybe I'm just thick ?

Thanks in advance.
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Re: Fighting in two directions.

Post by gozerius »

Depends on how you came in contact. Did you charge into a flank or rear contact? that would necessitate at least one enemy base pivoting to face you in the charge phase. So, yes, he is fighting in two directions.
If you moved into overlap during your maneuver phase, he does not turn to face. Not fighting in two directions.
If you qualified as in contact, but not committed to combat, and pivoted or shifted onto his flank or rear during the maneuver phase, he has the option of turning to face you, or ignoring you. If he turns, he fights in two directions. If he ignores you, he fights only those bases to his front, so is not fighting in two directions, but the bases in contact with his flank or rear fight without risk of damage.
Thracians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
Ambrosius
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:01 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK.

Re: Fighting in two directions.

Post by Ambrosius »

Thanks Gozerius, that's cleared up a few things.

Cheers.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”