Router / Pursuit query

General discussion forum for anything related to Field of Glory Ancients & Medieval.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
miffedofreading
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 4:00 pm
Location: Reading, England

Router / Pursuit query

Post by miffedofreading »

1) If unit A fights unit B in B's turn, and B is broken in melee it will rout. We will assume the pursuers stay in contact. At the end of the melee phase, effectively the 1st rout move does the routers B lose a base for an in contact pursuer or does this only happen in the JAP phase??

2) On to JAP the routers out run the pursuers this time....

3) The following turn, (A's turn) A immediately recharges the routers who are only 1 inch distant. I am assuming that in this case nothing happens until the JAP phase where both A and B make a VMD? If pursuers stay in contact then B loses a base but if routers out distance A then there are no loses at all that turn to B?

OK now take exactly the above example as above, BUT unit B was routed in melee in unit A's turn. Points 1 & 2 would still happen the same but point 3 causes me a problem. The following turn is B's turn so A can not charge. B will sit still until the JAP phase where it will make a standard move away. It is now 1 inch + a standard move away when A has it's turn the next time, and is now too far away to charge.

This seems very much as though I have missed something as there are some comments in the rules that imply it is fairly easy to continue a pursuit even if you get out distanced one turn??

Sorry this sounds a bit complicated

So basically 2 questions
1) Does a base get destroyed at the end of the initial rout phase
2) How does a pursuer stay in contact if it routs an enemy unit in it's own turn

Andy
stecal
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 4:21 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Post by stecal »

Does a base get destroyed at the end of the initial rout phase

Yes, 3rd bullet down on right column under initial pursuit, pg 101
Clear the battlefield and let me see
All the profit from our victory.
miffedofreading
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 317
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 4:00 pm
Location: Reading, England

Post by miffedofreading »

Thanks for that, I have always played that it did NOT, but had recently come to suspect that was wrong, hence the question :)


Now for the big complicated question. Hopefully there is a small simple answer
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

Once a pursuer has lost contact the routers generally make a quick getaway. To be honest recharging routers with the BG that broke them is the unusual thing.

If you want to stay on contact with routers use light horse or light foot.

Your reading of the rules is correct as far as I can see.
matt0341
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 6:13 am
Location: Wisconsin

Post by matt0341 »

The following turn, (A's turn) A immediately recharges the routers who are only 1 inch distant. I am assuming that in this case nothing happens until the JAP phase where both A and B make a VMD? If pursuers stay in contact then B loses a base but if routers out distance A then there are no loses at all that turn to B?
I'm not sure about this. The rule isn't very clear. But on p 108 the 5th bullet implies, to my mind anyway, that the renewed pursuit (charge to contact during the impact phase) is a pursuit move therefore BG B automatically loses another base when contact is made. During the following JAP, the routers and pursuers make another move and if still in contact, the routers then lose another base. I could be wrong though.
OK now take exactly the above example as above, BUT unit B was routed in melee in unit A's turn. Points 1 & 2 would still happen the same but point 3 causes me a problem. The following turn is B's turn so A can not charge. B will sit still until the JAP phase where it will make a standard move away. It is now 1 inch + a standard move away when A has it's turn the next time, and is now too far away to charge.
I think this is correct. I understand your point but I think you'll find events like this happening with many IGO UGO rules. Perhaps the only consolation is knowing that you could potentially cause great harm to the router had the turn sequence been in your favor.
matt0341
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 6:13 am
Location: Wisconsin

Post by matt0341 »

Or perhaps the 5th bullet means that the routers cannot evade if they are normally capable of doing so, and they are charged during the impact phase.
Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion”