Evades hit in the rear

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
bilugo
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 2:41 am
Location: sydney, Australia

Evades hit in the rear

Post by bilugo »

Situation arose the other day when we were playing and we could not find any reference in the rules.

LH evaded from Cavalry but were caught in the rear (light horse rolled a 1 and Cavalry a 6)

We did the impact phase with all the bonuses associated with the hit.

Question:

Can the LH or LF in any case break off again from a unit that has hit them in the flank/rear or do the LH/LF turn and face the unit hitting them in the flank?
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28284
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Evades hit in the rear

Post by rbodleyscott »

bilugo wrote:Situation arose the other day when we were playing and we could not find any reference in the rules.

LH evaded from Cavalry but were caught in the rear (light horse rolled a 1 and Cavalry a 6)

We did the impact phase with all the bonuses associated with the hit.

Question:

Can the LH or LF in any case break off again from a unit that has hit them in the flank/rear
No. They have been caught and must suffer the consequences.
or do the LH/LF turn and face the unit hitting them in the flank?
Yes
mikekh
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:26 pm

Post by mikekh »

Ok, the LH are contacted in the rear, assume two bases are contacted, and in the impact phase they will fight on -- whilst the cav fight on ++. Before the impact is resolved the two bases contacted will turn to face. So after the impact the LH BG is facing in two directions.

My question is: when do the remainder of the LH turn - in particular those elements that could fight as an overlap against the cavalry? Is this considered as 'feeding into' an existing combat and so will be one base per owning player's turn?

Thanks

Mike
WhiteKnight
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: yeovil somerset

evades hit in the rear

Post by WhiteKnight »

p 70 "reforming", last two bullet points, may be helpful here.

This suggests you cannot reform if more than one enemy is contacting you from different directions but you CAN if contacted from one direction only.

Is this right?

Martin
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4234
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Post by terrys »

My question is: when do the remainder of the LH turn - in particular those elements that could fight as an overlap against the cavalry? Is this considered as 'feeding into' an existing combat and so will be one base per owning player's turn?
Under the sesction headed: "Conforming to enemy in close combat"
At the start of the manoeuvre phase, the active player’s battle groups already in close combat
with the enemy must (unless otherwise stated below or physically impossible) pivot and/or
slide bases by the minimum necessary to conform to the enemy bases in contact:
So the answer is: "At the start of the manoeuvre phase"
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”