Supply rules

Discuss John Butterfield’s Battle of the Bulge: Crisis in Command Vol. 1
Post Reply
Amnese
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:53 am

Supply rules

Post by Amnese »

Can a unit in a friendly controlled space trace through a contested space?

The supply rules state that 'Supply may be traced out of a friendly or contested space, through friendly spaces, to a map edge.'

The wording of the rules suggests not, as it says specifically 'through friendly spaces' (ie: as opposed to 'through friendly and contested spaces).
It says Supply 'may be traced out of a friendly or contested space', but I read this as referring to the original unit attempting to draw supply (ie: as it says 'out of', not 'through').

However, in the situation pictured below,the two German Panzer units (116 Pz and 1 SS Pz) were able to draw supply through the contested space at the end of the turn.

So, can a unit in a friendly controlled space trace through a contested space?

Image
Croix de guerre
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 11:02 am

Re: Supply rules

Post by Croix de guerre »

According to the full rules, "Supply may be traced through a contested area by the side controlling the space".
Polybios
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 4:21 pm

Re: Supply rules

Post by Polybios »

So, can a unit in a friendly controlled space trace through a contested space?
Yes, if in your example the Germans had posession of the now contested area first!
daviddunham
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: Supply rules

Post by daviddunham »

Polybios wrote:Yes, if in your example the Germans had posession of the now contested area first!
Which the front line (white outline) shows that they do.
Amnese
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:53 am

Re: Supply rules

Post by Amnese »

Croix de guerre wrote:According to the full rules, "Supply may be traced through a contested area by the side controlling the space".
Ah, thanks for that. I thought that may have been the case, but then I read the common version of the rules (via help in the app) which made me rethink.
syedshah20
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 4:28 am

Re: Supply rules

Post by syedshah20 »

Armor can be stacked with infantry to increase its defence (-1 modifier to the attacker).
Armor is very mobile. It can do strategic moves, which Axis infantry cannot do. Use it to take control of an area, interdict a bridge, prevent river crossing by more than one unit, and so on...

Thanks, Nice post if you want to see my site please check this https://gamesmagzine.com/
Post Reply

Return to “Battle of the Bulge”