Shock troops fighting in overlap -have to charge?

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Custor
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:51 pm
Location: Kent

Shock troops fighting in overlap -have to charge?

Post by Custor »

When shock troops are already fighting in an overlap are presented with a compulsory charge target...do they have to charge it (moving away from the overlap) or are they considered already in combat?
Robert241167
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1368
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: Shock troops fighting in overlap -have to charge?

Post by Robert241167 »

Hi there Custor

In my understanding shock troops in overlap would have to test not to charge a compulsory charge target as nothing in the rules exempts them from doing this.

Rob
RobKhan
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 6:52 pm
Location: Hamburg

Re: Shock troops fighting in overlap -have to charge?

Post by RobKhan »

In the general movement rules covering moving from overlap it states that overlapping BG's are free to declare charges in the impact phase.
In the Impact Phase chapter covering the CMT for charging without orders there is no exception for overlapping BG's. Already being in melee (overlap??) is an exception only for when there is an available target BG that would require charging through another friendly BG.
So If they are free to declare a charge, they are also free to "do their own thing" and you need to do a CMT.
Cheers
Rob

Why is a corporal serving on a destroyer??
"Merry it was to laugh there
Where death becomes absurd and life absurder.
For power was on us as we slashed bones bare.
Not to feel sickness or remorse of murder." Wilfred Owen 1893-1918.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”