charging with a Bg with bases facing 2 directions

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
domblas
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: Montpellier, France

charging with a Bg with bases facing 2 directions

Post by domblas »

Hello foggers,

Last friday a rule point arose :
My BG of 4 HF was in position to charge cataphracts but it was not my turn and it was charged in flank by LH. I turned the 2 bases contacted , but didnot conforme to keep facing the catatcphracts and after the fight,during the JAP the LH broke off. At impact, my opponent argued that as it was facing 2 directions , my BG of HF could'nt charge. What do the rule say on this situation?
Edward
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: charging with a Bg with bases facing 2 directions

Post by petedalby »

I do not believe this situation is explicitly covered by the rules. :?:

But since a BG with bases facing in more than 1 direction cannot pursue routers - p108 - it would appear most likely that it cannot charge either.

A charge must be on a target within normal move distance. A BG with bases facing in more than 1 direction cannot move until it reforms. Therefore I agree with your opponent - no charge permitted until after you reform.
Pete
kal5056
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 11:35 pm

Re: charging with a Bg with bases facing 2 directions

Post by kal5056 »

Seems a clever use of LH if you ask me
Now if only the Cats had bow you would be in a pickle.

Gino
SMAC.
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Re: charging with a Bg with bases facing 2 directions

Post by gozerius »

petedalby wrote:I do not believe this situation is explicitly covered by the rules. :?:

But since a BG with bases facing in more than 1 direction cannot pursue routers - p108 - it would appear most likely that it cannot charge either.

A charge must be on a target within normal move distance. A BG with bases facing in more than 1 direction cannot move until it reforms. Therefore I agree with your opponent - no charge permitted until after you reform.
Actually, you just covered where in the rules this explicitly covered. A battle group facing two directions cannot move voluntarily until it reforms in the maneuver phase. Additionally, no formation changes are permitted in the charge phase except dropping back one file to bypass friendlies.
Thracians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: charging with a Bg with bases facing 2 directions

Post by petedalby »

Actually, you just covered where in the rules this explicitly covered.
Thanks - but I think it is implicit rather than explicit. If it had appeared on Page 62 - 'Troops Who Cannot Charge' - then this question would not have arisen.

But I'm glad you agree - I'm sure there will be others who don't.
Pete
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”