Formation question....

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
KenWinland
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:59 am

Formation question....

Post by KenWinland »

Howdy!

Not too clear (to me at least) at the moment...

Generally, formations must be rectangular. So let's say we have a unit of 6 stands;

XXX
XXX

During the move phase, it expands by 2 stands;

X
XXXXX

What happens to the stand in the last rank? Does it "conform" to the front row during the appropriate phase? Is that formation legal?

Ken
AlbionOak
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:27 pm

Post by AlbionOak »

Hello Ken
I can answer this as I had a similar question as I too was a little confused by the "rectangular" thing. The 5 + 1 formation is legal because the rules state that the rear rank (only) can have less bases.
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28290
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

Albion wrote:Hello Ken
I can answer this as I had a similar question as I too was a little confused by the "rectangular" thing. The 5 + 1 formation is legal because the rules state that the rear rank (only) can have less bases.
In the actual rule book this is clarified by a diagram which shows the formation

XX
XXXX

amongst others.
KenWinland
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 3:59 am

Formation question....

Post by KenWinland »

Thanks for the answers!

This is what we thought, but then the whole rectangular thing kept cropping up.

Cool!

Ken
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”