infantry firing and dice

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Blathergut, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

infantry firing and dice

Post by bahdahbum »

What happens if in front of your unit you have one unit short range and another unit , more in front of the center of your unit but at medium fire range .If we read accuratly pg 52 , the nearest unit being in the short range band, all dices had to be allocated to that target as the other target was not in nthe same rage band .

Did we play correctly ?
panda2
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:22 pm
Location: London

Re: infantry firing and dice

Post by panda2 »

Yes that is the general rule and is always the case for small units.

The only exception would be large unit not in deep formation where the short range target was only in front of one base. In that case the large unit would fire as a small unit at the short range target and any remaining dice could fire at the medium range targets (see p.51 last bullet under "dice allocation" and second bullet under "dice allocation").

Andy D
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4237
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Re: infantry firing and dice

Post by terrys »

Yes that is the general rule and is always the case for small units.

The only exception would be large unit not in deep formation where the short range target was only in front of one base. In that case the large unit would fire as a small unit at the short range target and any remaining dice could fire at the medium range targets (see p.51 last bullet under "dice allocation" and second bullet under "dice allocation").
There are some odd situations where a large unit has an enemy within 2Mu and in front of just 1 of its end bases, and some instances of infantry in extended line with enemy within 2 MU of the front of one half it it. In these cases there may well be a single dice left over to fire at a target at medium range. There will shortly be a FAQ covering this, but for the rule will be something like:
> If a unit has targets at both short and medium range it MUST fire the maximum number of dice at the target(s) at close range. If all of a units close range dice allowance cannot be allocated (including both halves of a unit in extended line) the unit may then fire a single dice at one medium range target.
bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: infantry firing and dice

Post by bahdahbum »

In our case it was a small unit with one base in firing range 2 MU and one base more frontally of another target but medium range .
panda2
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:22 pm
Location: London

Re: infantry firing and dice

Post by panda2 »

Well it looks like you played it right then, they all fire at the close range target. I only added the stuff on large units for compleatness and because you'd asked another question about large units in a seperate thread.

Andy
MNFS
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:24 pm

Re: infantry firing and dice

Post by MNFS »

Does an infantry unit in extended line shoot its full dice for each half of the line at medium range?

E.g. Reformed foot with skirmishers firing a total of 8 dice?
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4237
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Re: infantry firing and dice

Post by terrys »

Does an infantry unit in extended line shoot its full dice for each half of the line at medium range?

E.g. Reformed foot with skirmishers firing a total of 8 dice?
Page 51 "A unit in Extended Line fires AT CLOSE RANGE as 2 adjacent half units.
i.e. you do NOT get a benefit at medium range for being in extended line.
MNFS
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:24 pm

Re: infantry firing and dice

Post by MNFS »

OK thanks for the quick reply. Does a unit in extended line spread its 4 firing dice across all targets to its front or can it concentrate it firing over a 2 base frontage?
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4237
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Re: infantry firing and dice

Post by terrys »

Does a unit in extended line spread its 4 firing dice across all targets to its front or can it concentrate it firing over a 2 base frontage?
No - it spreads its fire across the entire frontage.
At medium range the firing is done by the light companies in advance of the main line. There will be the same number of skirmishers available regardless of the formation of the rest of the regiment. If the regiment is spread very thinly so will the skirmish screen protecting it.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”