Rules ??: Capable of Firing??

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Blathergut, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
Blathergut
Field Marshal - Elefant
Field Marshal - Elefant
Posts: 5882
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada

Rules ??: Capable of Firing??

Post by Blathergut »

A unit defending buildings may shoot out with 4 dice at each unit 'capable of firing at them this phase.'

Would an unlimbered artillery unit which would have to pivot a MU in order to bring the buildings into arc be a target of the unit in the buildings even if the artillery chose not to pivot and fired at some other target?

Would a limbered artillery unit be a target?
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4234
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Re: Rules ??: Capable of Firing??

Post by terrys »

Would an unlimbered artillery unit which would have to pivot a MU in order to bring the buildings into arc be a target of the unit in the buildings even if the artillery chose not to pivot and fired at some other target?
only in your own turn. You fire 2nd in youropponents turn, so if he didn't pivot during his own phase he would not be 'capable of firing at them this phase.'
Would a limbered artillery unit be a target?
Only if there is no other unit capable of firng at the buildings this turn and it is the closest enemy unit within their normal range.
paulbg
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 1:17 am

Re: Rules ??: Capable of Firing??

Post by paulbg »

Terry
only in your own turn. You fire 2nd in youropponents turn, so if he didn't pivot during his own phase he would not be 'capable of firing at them this phase.'
The rules (pg 51) don't say that artillery can only pivot in their own turn. It just says that (in the fire phase) artillery can pivot first, simulating greater arc of fire.

Why would the greater arc only apply in its turn ?


Paul
SirGarnet
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:13 am

Re: Rules ??: Capable of Firing??

Post by SirGarnet »

The possible arc is not different. What is different is that in your own turn you don't know whether or not the enemy will pivot to shoot you, so it remains capable of doing so. In the opponent's turn, whether he pivoted to shoot you is already known before you shoot.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”