Combat Resolution Question

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Daringdachshund
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 12:41 am

Combat Resolution Question

Post by Daringdachshund »

Hi There

A battle group of four wide Heavy Chariots frontally charges a battle group of 12 (3 wide 4 deep) fragmented pike causing them to break. The chariots pursue the pike maintaining contact and inflicting casualties. During a following impact phase a battle group of knights charge into the side of one of the pursuing chariots which is still frontally engaged against the rear of the broken pike it is pursuing. The knight’s charge does not qualify as a legal flank or rear charge. What is the following sequence of events relating to these three battle groups from the knights initial impact until the end of the melee phase of this particular bound?

Rgrds
Martin Abel
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Not 100% certain without a piccie but here goes: BASICALLY IGNORE THE ROUTERS EXIST OTHER THAN IN SO FAR AS THEY BLOCK CONFORMING

1. The charge on the chariots is a frontal charge just catching a side edge with a front corner
2. The combat is fought normally at impact probably with 2 dice each
3. Normal results apply
4. Chargers attempt to conform to the front but cannot do so due to the routers being in the way at this stage
5. Melee is fought offset - both side get 1 overlap as if they had conformed
6. Normal results apply
7. In the JAP the routers make their next rout move - should be their 3rd rout move
8. Pursuing chariots are stopped and will fight the people who charged them - conforming to them in their active manouvre phase

now to check something on (7)

Did you do:

1. An initial rout at the time of the break AND
2. A second rout in the JAP
3. Take a base off for remaining in contact
4. or Attempt to stop the chariots prusuing the second time with a CMT

SI
Daringdachshund
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 12:41 am

Post by Daringdachshund »

1. Yes.
2. Yes.
3. Yes.
4. No.

The chariots chose to continue to pursue. Bases in contact were removed from the pike battle group. The chariot on the left of the battlegroup was still in contact with a pike when it was charged by the knights.

We played it as you have stated but were not sure if this was the correct way. If the knights charge had been a legal flank charge (nearly was) would the chariot, in contact with both pike and knight, have turned to face the flank attack?
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Indeed thery would

Si
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”