BG Louis XIV later

Moderators: terrys, Slitherine Core, FOGR Design

Post Reply
bawawa
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:44 pm

BG Louis XIV later

Post by bawawa »

Sorry if already asked, didn't find answer
What is the interest of the BG with 5 MF musket* impact foot bayo and 1 pike ?
are the 2 outboard files protected ?
Who can fire ?
Is it only to match historical feature ?
Is the pike at the front rank ?
Many thanks
Eric
ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Re: BG Louis XIV later

Post by ravenflight »

bawawa wrote:Sorry if already asked, didn't find answer
What is the interest of the BG with 5 MF musket* impact foot bayo and 1 pike ?
are the 2 outboard files protected ?
Who can fire ?
Is it only to match historical feature ?
Is the pike at the front rank ?
Many thanks
Eric
Assuming you're at least in corner to corner contact with the pike, all files are protected. If you stupidly put your formation in a single rank, then the outer files (the ones not in contact with the pike) would not be protected.
You have 5 dice of shooters at close range. You get all of the front rank (3 dice) and 1:2 of the rear rank (1) = 4 total dice.
P33 states that the pike must be the centre and rear most file.
bawawa
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:44 pm

Post by bawawa »

Ok I didn't know we can put the pike at the rear ! in that case that's fine !
THX
ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Post by ravenflight »

bawawa wrote:Ok I didn't know we can put the pike at the rear ! in that case that's fine !
THX
Yeah, you can, and in fact I think 'you must' if I read P33 correctly :D
madaxeman
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3002
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:15 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by madaxeman »

The pike (can) move to the front when in combat too
http://www.madaxeman.com
Holiday in Devon? Try https://www.thecaptainscottagebrixham.com
ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Post by ravenflight »

madaxeman wrote:The pike (can) move to the front when in combat too
I guess if they are in combat in certain circumstances it may make a difference... like if the Pike were armoured etc.

So, if they do move to the front in combat do they automatically move to the rear if/when they defeat their enemy?

(and by asking this question, I don't want anyone to be under the misconception that I like my pikes in my rear!)
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5290
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

moving the pike to the rear is part of reforming, it occurs at the beginning of either players turn, a BG not in a proper formation reforms to its correct formation as per the rules. I believe in melee the pike moves up front then the BG will reform after the melee is over.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”