Expanding into an existing melee

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Expanding into an existing melee

Post by ravenflight »

Can a bg expand into a new BG who is lending overlap support to his friends?
zeitoun
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1046
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 6:31 pm
Location: poitiers FRANCE

Post by zeitoun »

yes , see FAQ
Olivier Marceau
early carthage
later carthage
HWY continental
WOTR Yorkish, Tudor and Lancastre
Perses Sassanids
Francais Ordonnance
kal5056
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 11:35 pm

Post by kal5056 »

Furthermore if the BG in over lap is one that can evade it CANNOT do so to avoid this combat.

Gino
SMAC
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

So be careful if you overlap with light foot!
LeslieMitchell
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:29 am

Post by LeslieMitchell »

grahambriggs wrote:So be careful if you overlap with light foot!
Good advice, can this over lap be stop by having the unit which is in overlap make contact part of the way down the side edge, e.g.,

Image

or does this happen

Image

when you create the over lap
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

Good advice, can this over lap be stop by having the unit which is in overlap make contact part of the way down the side edge, e.g.,
Sadly the BG in melee cannot expand to contact the overlapping LF. Something that V2 might address - or not?
Pete
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

Why not. Those BG not conformed fight as if conformed and may feed in bases.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

I don't think there is any requirement for the BGs as depicted to conform - thus they cannot be in a situation where thye were unable to conform and thus fight as if they had :shock:
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
kal5056
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 11:35 pm

Post by kal5056 »

The way we have always played is that the light foot are contacted where they stand and are then trapped in this melle.

Can someone point out chapter and verse where this is incorrect?
Gino
SMAC
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

The only possible reason here that they cannot expand is they would have an odd back rank. I would need the rules for exact wording

AAAA
AAAABB
__CCBB
__CC


A facing down, B&C enemy facing up

In this case they could certainly expand the left hand column, as we view it, of A to the front of B......IMO
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
elysiumsolutions@fsmail.n
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 10:17 am

Post by elysiumsolutions@fsmail.n »

There is no requirement for the LF to drop back to parallel with the friendly fighting unit as the enemy wishes to expand so I do not believe this is the case.
To me it would seem sensible that the spears can expand to meet an overlap i.e. in front of the LF despite the offset. However, an argument against it is that it is not a legal formation as specified on page 23. "In general troops must be in a rectangular formation with all bases facing in the same direction, in edge and corner contact with each other". This not being one of the 4 listed exceptions.
It would therefore seem IMO that this unfortunately does stop the expansion.
Its not a manoeuvre that I have ever seen done deliberately but if it does stop expansion I can imagine it becoming very prevelant and as such I hope someone can justify why it doesn't stop expansion as its cheesy.

Paul
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

There are more than 4 exceptions to this, they are not all listed. Partial Interpenetrations, BG that cannot conform, BG that have stepped forwards.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

philqw78 wrote:There are more than 4 exceptions to this, they are not all listed. Partial Interpenetrations, BG that cannot conform, BG that have stepped forwards.

Don't all of these essentially come under the compulsory move exception on page 23?

Regardless, none allow the expansion in question - mind you I know I have allowed it in games as it is only a geometry thing which is to be avoided if possible.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

nikgaukroger wrote:
philqw78 wrote:There are more than 4 exceptions to this, they are not all listed. Partial Interpenetrations, BG that cannot conform, BG that have stepped forwards.

Don't all of these essentially come under the compulsory move exception on page 23?
Erm, No, just because I'm in a contrary mood today. Partial interpenetration can be voluntary. Not conforming is not moving, and the only reason a step forward would be compulsory is if the charge was compulsory, if the charge is not done they don't have to step forward. If they volunteer to charge they volunteer to be made to step forward.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Post by ravenflight »

elysiumsolutions@fsmail.n wrote:However, an argument against it is that it is not a legal formation as specified on page 23. "In general troops must be in a rectangular formation with all bases facing in the same direction, in edge and corner contact with each other".
Hi Paul,

I wouldn't think it's necessarily an 'illegal' formation. For example IF the spear were in a formation such as they could charge both the lights and the other enemy and IF the Lights 'stood' to receive the charge, then the formation would appear as such after contact. I agree that it didn't occur like that, but the formation would still be the same 'illegal' formation until such time as the combat was resolved.

Correct?
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Post by gozerius »

There is nothing in the "Feeding More bases into an Existing Melee" section that would prohibit expanding into front edge contact with the LF. Feeding more bases into melee is not a move and so does not count as voluntary movement. This sounds like the geometry fiends trying to DBXXXXXX up the game.
Thracians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

It is probably worth pointing out that if this expansion is not allowed then any BG that has stepped forwards in a charge can also not expand.

IMO this is fine and the light foot cannot evade.
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

gozerius wrote:There is nothing in the "Feeding More bases into an Existing Melee" section that would prohibit expanding into front edge contact with the LF. Feeding more bases into melee is not a move and so does not count as voluntary movement.

Whether it is movement or not is not relevant to the section on page 23 IIRC.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

Page 23 is why I responded as I did. But if all umpires agree that this overlap is cheese and the BG in melee can still expand then I'm all for it.
Pete
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

petedalby wrote:Page 23 is why I responded as I did. But if all umpires agree that this overlap is cheese and the BG in melee can still expand then I'm all for it.
The "General" rule on page 23 is very badly worded as we know there are exception as well as those shown, so when, generally, does it or does it not apply.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”