
Does this mean:-
a) the impact foot are charging (i.e have moved in the impact phase to contact) the shock mounted
b) the shock mounted are charging (i.e have moved in the impact phase to contact) the impact foot
Many thanks

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
This. The quick reference table shortens the full wording in the full table on page 96, which says "against any mounted, unless the foot are charging mounted shock troops".njb2729 wrote:a) the impact foot are charging (i.e have moved in the impact phase to contact) the shock mounted
The rules account for counter charges and other effects we don't see with the movement of figures on the tabletop...so, in this case, the mounted are not actually sitting still and letting the foot hit them (which would be a disaster).njb2729 wrote:Ah, thanks for that.
Seems strange that shock mounted are at more of an advantage if they stand still and let impact foot charge them. I would have thought the other way round.
So lancer armed Cavalry/knights/cataphracts will be +1 POA if they stand still or level POA if they charge versus impact foot
I think you need to re-conceptualize that. It's not that the shock cav are standing still, but that the impact foot aren't. The rules say that the BG receiving the charge is assumed to be taking appropriate action, i.e countercharging, even if this movement is too small to be shown on the tabletop. If the impact foot instead receive the charge of the shock mounted then they get to set themselves; if they are the ones charging then they do not.njb2729 wrote:Seems strange that shock mounted are at more of an advantage if they stand still and let impact foot charge them. I would have thought the other way round.