Difficult Forward Moves for Newbies

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Anleiher
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:54 pm

Difficult Forward Moves for Newbies

Post by Anleiher »

I'm looking for some help in sorting out the whole "difficult forward move" concept. As I understand it, once a BG is within 6 inches of another BG of formed troops, the actions open to the first BG become restricted unless said BG is accompanied by a general. So far; so good. Now what, though?

Just what are the restrictions? Are they different for drilled vs. undrilled? Do they apply to skirmishers as well? Where do I find these restrictions?

Thanks
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

This must be one of the most frequently asked (and answered) questions on this forum. ;->)

Here's my attempt at a simplified answer:

1. ignore this rule if your BG is any of the following: skirmishers, any kind of drilled troops, undrilled cavalry, or undrilled light chariots

2. only "other undrilled" troops need worry about this rule e.g. undrilled foot, undrilled knights, undrilled elephants etc

3. if your "other undrilled" BG is within 6 MUs of the enemy, it must have a general with it in order to:
- move less than it's full move distance
- move less than it's full move distance with a single wheel
- move it's full movement distance with a single wheel
kal5056
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 11:35 pm

Post by kal5056 »

#3 can be further simplified by saying "Do anything other than makes its full movement straight ahead"

Gino
SMAC
lawrenceg
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:24 pm
Location: Former British Empire

Post by lawrenceg »

zoltan wrote:This must be one of the most frequently asked (and answered) questions on this forum. ;->)

Here's my attempt at a simplified answer:

1. ignore this rule if your BG is any of the following: skirmishers, any kind of drilled troops, undrilled cavalry, or undrilled light chariots

2. only "other undrilled" troops need worry about this rule e.g. undrilled foot, undrilled knights, undrilled elephants etc

3. if your "other undrilled" BG is within 6 MUs of the enemy, it must have a general with it in order to:
- move less than it's full move distance
- move less than it's full move distance with a single wheel
- move it's full movement distance with a single wheel
This is not quite right. It can do those things without a general, but it must pass a CMT to do so.

I would explain it like this:

There are two kinds of forward move.

"Easy" (not called that in the rules, but I call them that as they are not "Difficult")

"Difficult".

A forward move is "Easy" if any of the following apply:

There is a commander with the BG (or Battle Line), or
The whole move is more than 6 MU from enemy, or
The move is straight ahead a full move.

Any other forward move is "Difficult". This means

No commander with the BG or BL and
Moving within 6 MU of enemy and
Moves less than its maximum move distance, and/or wheels.

In movement table the Advances sections is split into

"Difficult forward move including up to 1 wheel" which is a simple move for most things and a complex move for "undrilled other". This is the only restriction.

"Any other forward move including up to 1 wheel" which is a simple move for everything.

If a forward move includes two wheels it is in the "Double wheel" section of the table and it is makes no difference whether it is difficult or easy.
Lawrence Greaves
Anleiher
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:54 pm

Post by Anleiher »

Thank you gentlemen. Your explanation is so much simpler than the wording in the book. I appreciate the help.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”