Charging a Village

Moderators: terrys, Slitherine Core, FOGR Design

Post Reply
mbsparta
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:57 pm

Charging a Village

Post by mbsparta »

We had our first post-play-test game today: Scots Covenanters vs NMA circa 1650.

28mm on a 6x4 table ... we had 600 point armies and the table was full! Still we had a good game that allowed for a little manuver. Dave (Leven) wanted to charge a BG of foot (pike/muskets) into a unit of NMA firelocks defending a village. A search of the rules really didn't help us resolve how to conduct this attack, if it is even possible. Can anyone offer suggestions on how we should have handled this?

I noticed that Scots lancer cavarly did not seem to be as overpowering as we found them to be in play-testing. If there were some changes, my cudos for doing that. :)

Cromwell led his left wing who routed his megger Scots' horse opponents and road off (in un-Cromwellian fashion) to sack their supply camp. The Scots' horse had better luck on the other flank and captured the NMA camp. The game ended in a draw when both armies reached the breaking point on the same turn. A very fun game.

Next week ... Cromwell looks forward to some yummy poodle steaks.

Mike B
Blathergut
Field Marshal - Elefant
Field Marshal - Elefant
Posts: 5882
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada

Post by Blathergut »

ehehehe


Will let you know how our first one goes tomorrow. Isn't a village just like any other rough terrain? You just charge the BG and connect where it is?
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5286
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

You just charge them, but they count as protected for being in a BUA, I would assume that applies to melee as well as being shot at.
If you get your guys into the BUA I would assume your both protected for melee assuming each side is hiding out in the buildings and shooting fighting each other from doors and windows as well as out in the streets. If your guys are outside the BUA and they are inside I think they count as protected and you would be normal unarmoured, assuming it was unarmoured foot you wanted to charge in with.
Normal disordering effects and movement costs would apply as well for dice loss etc.
timmy1
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, England

Post by timmy1 »

Also it depends if any of the pike block even marginally in the village, if they are they are severly disordered, so will lose 1 per 2. Other than that looks ok to me exactly as Derek says.
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5286
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

Yes it seems you want to stick your shot in side the nasty stuff, not a great place for the pikes to go alright. Still how else to get them out short of lots of lucky shooting hits and not so good death rolls on his part?
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”