Questions on Outflanking Marches

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Plainsman
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 3:36 am
Location: Grand Forks, ND

Questions on Outflanking Marches

Post by Plainsman »

In the game setup procedure #12 and game setup list on page 138, the fourth bullet says, "Record outflanking marches."

Does this mean this is written down secretly by the side performing this march?

When a side rolls for an outflanking march at the beginning of the impact phase, does the side it enters remain secret until a successful arrival?

Thank you!
TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:44 pm

Post by TERRYFROMSPOKANE »

Page 144 says outflanking marches are, "noted down before deployment". I think they are kept secret until, "When the flank march successfully dices to arrive." I take this to mean which flank and the number of BGs involved are not revealed at the first roll, but only when a succesful roll is made.

It appears to me one could roll a die for each flank every turn even if no flanking force exists, revealing the non-existence of a flanking force only when a successful roll is made.

Terry G.
kevinj
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2379
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Post by kevinj »

It appears to me one could roll a die for each flank every turn even if no flanking force exists, revealing the non-existence of a flanking force only when a successful roll is made.
I would argue that "Roll two dice for each outflanking march" means no roll if there is no outflanking march.
berthier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
Posts: 781
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:01 am
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Contact:

Post by berthier »

Back on April 22, 2008, Philqw78 specifically asked if you could use fake flank marches and the answer from Simon Hall was that you could not, i.e. if there is no flank march there is no roll.

Christopher Anders
david53
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2859
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: Manchester

Post by david53 »

I'm sure on the full movement list it says roll 2 dice for Flank March. I have never rolled when there was no flank march.

You must write the side the flank march is coming on the number of BGs type ect and general taking it. This will all save trouble later. When you roll the dice and they arrive, you only tell which side it is coming on and the number of Bgs it is. But when it comes on I show my opponent my written down instructions. If i play someone and they have'nt a written down instruction I would say no flank march. It is important to write these down. :)
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”