Flank Charge - Turning to face

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Bugle999
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 11:16 am
Location: London (S.E.) UK

Flank Charge - Turning to face

Post by Bugle999 »

A unit of 6 MF (Unit A) in single column charges an ememy unit of 3 wide and 2 deep MF (Unit B) in the flank.
Unit B turns 2 bases (one behind the other) to face the chargers, leaving the remaining 4 bases facing in the original direction.
The impact is fought.
Q1 - Does Unit B suffer any penalty for facing in two directions?
The impact proves indecisive and so Unit A then expands on one side to end up 2 wide and 3 deep.
Q2. Can Unit B take 2 bases from where they are currently facing to match this expansion (leaving 2 bases facing in the original direction)?
Q3. Can Unit B turn all the bases around to face and end up 2 wide 3 deep?
Q4. What other options does Unit B have?

Now, Unit C wants to charge the remaining (2 or 4 bases) of Unit B still facing in the original direction. In doing so he will contact the turned elements of Unit B in the flank.
Q5. Does this qualify as a flank attacK?
Q6. Will this count as fighting in 2 directions?

Hope this makes sense and would appreciate any observations on what eithe rplayer could choose to do in this situation?

MTIA,
MCollett
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:41 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Flank Charge - Turning to face

Post by MCollett »

Bugle999 wrote:A unit of 6 MF (Unit A) in single column charges an ememy unit of 3 wide and 2 deep MF (Unit B) in the flank.
Unit B turns 2 bases (one behind the other) to face the chargers, leaving the remaining 4 bases facing in the original direction.
The impact is fought.
Q1 - Does Unit B suffer any penalty for facing in two directions?
No. The penalty is for fighting in two directions, and only applies for melee, not impact.
The impact proves indecisive and so Unit A then expands on one side to end up 2 wide and 3 deep.
Q2. Can Unit B take 2 bases from where they are currently facing to match this expansion (leaving 2 bases facing in the original direction)?
Q3. Can Unit B turn all the bases around to face and end up 2 wide 3 deep?
Q4. What other options does Unit B have?
B can certainly turn all the bases: that counts as reforming the unit and must be done before any other voluntary move is possible. It will leave B 1 wide and 6 deep. Having turned, B can then feed more bases into combat by expanding to 2 wide and 3 deep. I don't think B is allowed to feed bases in without reforming.
Now, Unit C wants to charge the remaining (2 or 4 bases) of Unit B still facing in the original direction. In doing so he will contact the turned elements of Unit B in the flank.
Q5. Does this qualify as a flank attacK?
Q6. Will this count as fighting in 2 directions?
It's not a flank attack unless B has reformed to face the original flank. Either way, B will count as fighting in 2 directions in the following melee phase.

Best wishes,
Matthew
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Post by gozerius »

A unit of 6 MF (Unit A) in single column charges an ememy unit of 3 wide and 2 deep MF (Unit B) in the flank.
Unit B turns 2 bases (one behind the other) to face the chargers, leaving the remaining 4 bases facing in the original direction.
The impact is fought.
Q1 - Does Unit B suffer any penalty for facing in two directions?
No, but it immediately drops one level of cohesion for being hit by a flank charge.
The impact proves indecisive and so Unit A then expands on one side to end up 2 wide and 3 deep.
Q2. Can Unit B take 2 bases from where they are currently facing to match this expansion (leaving 2 bases facing in the original direction)?
Yes. Feeding more bases into melee does not require that the BG start or end in a normal formation to perform. It is not a "move".

Q3. Can Unit B turn all the bases around to face and end up 2 wide 3 deep?
Q4. What other options does Unit B have?
In the maneuver phase Unit B could reform into a single 1 wide, six deep column facing Unit A, then expand to a 2 wide, 3 deep formation to meet the enemy's expansion. Or it could choose not to reform and simply meet the enemy's expansion as in Q2.

Now, Unit C wants to charge the remaining (2 or 4 bases) of Unit B still facing in the original direction. In doing so he will contact the turned elements of Unit B in the flank.
Q5. Does this qualify as a flank attacK?
Q6. Will this count as fighting in 2 directions?
If Unit C is charging Unit B which is facing in two directions , it only qualifies for a flank charge if it is not in front of a line extending the front edge of any base in the charged formation. So it would not qualify for a flank charge. B would count as fighting in two directions.
Bugle999
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 11:16 am
Location: London (S.E.) UK

Post by Bugle999 »

Hi Thanks for replies - all understood except:-
There appears a difference of opinion in whether Unit B can expand to meet Unit A's expansion...

MCollett states (paraphrasing): that Unit B must 'Reform' prior to completing any voluntary move (like expanding).

Gozerius states (again paraphrasing): that the expansion does not count as a 'Move' and therefore can be done without reforming i.e. meet the expansion and face in the original direction as well.

Can either of you clarify which is correct please (or maybe I have misunderstood your posts...?)

Thanks again.
rogerg
Captain - Bf 110D
Captain - Bf 110D
Posts: 855
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 1:02 pm
Location: Halifax, Yorkshire

Post by rogerg »

Feeding in does not require reforming. (Unless a lot of us have missed something in the rules). It seems clear reforming is required to move as described in the movement table. E.g. you cannot advance while facing in two directions. It is not legal to feed in units and take up an illegal formation. However, so long as the ranks are kept so that only the final rank has fewer bases, the fact that the ranks have a ninety degree bend in is not a problem. In the example you quote the BG is still two ranks deep everywhere, which is OK.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”