Rear rank shooting from terrain

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
MJT
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 5:39 am
Location: Adeliade, South Australia

Rear rank shooting from terrain

Post by MJT »

I’m sure this question has been asked before and the answer is probably in the rules – but I can’t find it!

I have two ranks of bow and want to fire with both ranks - but I’m in a village. Page 131 states that “Troops inside can only shoot in 1 rank” but what if I have the front rank out of the village and the rear rank in the village? For purposes of shooting is the BG inside the terrain (which it isn’t for purposes of Cover) or outside the terrain and can claim two ranks deep for shooting?

Thanks
Marcus
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

no, they are still rear rank/2nd rank
MJT
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 5:39 am
Location: Adeliade, South Australia

Post by MJT »

Thanks for the response but I'm still confused. I did't ask the question very well. I'll re-state the issue:

I have two ranks of bow and want to fire with both ranks - but I have two ranks of bow with the front rank out of the village and the rear rank in the village? Can I claim two ranks deep for shooting?

And can you please point me at the reference or clarification that confirms this.

thanks again
Marcus
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28284
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

MJT wrote:Thanks for the response but I'm still confused. I did't ask the question very well. I'll re-state the issue:

I have two ranks of bow and want to fire with both ranks - but I have two ranks of bow with the front rank out of the village and the rear rank in the village? Can I claim two ranks deep for shooting?

And can you please point me at the reference or clarification that confirms this.
You cannot claim 2 ranks shooting in these circumstances. Consider this the clarification that confirms it.

(Another case of FOG being written in normal English and not allowing for every possible "creative" interpretation of the wording).
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Well you have two ranks, and those two ranks are in terrain so you can't shoot the second only the first.

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28284
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

shall wrote:Well you have two ranks, and those two ranks are in terrain so you can't shoot the second only the first.

Si
I think what Simon meant is:

Well you have two ranks, and one of those two ranks is in terrain so you can't shoot the second only the first.
MJT
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 5:39 am
Location: Adeliade, South Australia

Post by MJT »

Gentlemen,
Thank you. That clears it up nicely.
Marcus
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

I was being a bit more philosophical ... but RBS has adapted to the rule relevant interp for me thanks :-)

My overidng comment is that bases are just bases - real generals don't have them. 2 ranks of bases is just one block of troops with a frontage of Y and a depth of N ranks.

This "block of troops" is in terrain to some degree, so its entirely logical to me for the restriction to apply, as RBS had stated.

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
HannibalBarca
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:18 pm

Post by HannibalBarca »

I'm not saying that it isn't a sensible concept, Simon, but that is at odds with the way the rules are written with respect to terrain.

"Battle group disorder" - page 26: "Only bases marked 'A' [bases at least partly overlapping a rough terrain area] are in the rough terrain..."
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

So second rank bases are second rank and in difficult terrain, therefore cannot shoot. I'd be happy with a second rank base of the BG completely outside of the terrain shooting. Shoot on a base by base basis. :wink:
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

I'm not saying that it isn't a sensible concept, Simon, but that is at odds with the way the rules are written with respect to terrain.

"Battle group disorder" - page 26: "Only bases marked 'A' [bases at least partly overlapping a rough terrain area] are in the rough terrain..."
To me that says ...

The file from left has front out and rear in. As rear is in it can only shoot from a front rank as troops inside can only shoot in 1 rank.

I can see how you can twist it to try to say otherwise, but its a long stretch and i think the intent is clear enough without resorting to too much legalise. Otherwise my more liiteral ruling would be something like ....

Rear rank can try to shoot as in 1 rank .... but alas ...

its not allowed to shoot over the friendly base in the way, and has np other target between itself and the front rank base.

Isn't that where you get to with alternate interps - just for fun of course :-))

And my even more literal one ...

A bg that is 2 deep in a forest cannot fire at all as it is not in 1 rank - the BG is in 2 ranks formation !! :-)

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

shall wrote:I can see how you can twist it to try to say otherwise, but its a long stretch and i think the intent is clear enough without resorting to too much legalise. Otherwise my more liiteral ruling would be something like ....

Rear rank can try to shoot as in 1 rank .... but alas ...

its not allowed to shoot over the friendly base in the way, and has np other target between itself and the front rank base.

Isn't that where you get to with alternate interps - just for fun of course :-))

And my even more literal one ...

A bg that is 2 deep in a forest cannot fire at all as it is not in 1 rank - the BG is in 2 ranks formation !! :-)
Hijacking this thread when asked about second rank shooters in a mixed formation in terrain I ruled that they couldn't shoot. I seem to remember using similar arguments to these.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”