Maneuvers with Welsh spearmen

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
TERRYFROMSPOKANE
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:44 pm

Maneuvers with Welsh spearmen

Post by TERRYFROMSPOKANE »

I have a BG of Medium Foot, Undrilled, Unprotected Offensive Spears. I am advancing toward a BG of English Longbows and have a BG of my Skirmisher in front to absorb missal fire.

1. During a Maneuver Phase I fail a CMT. My Skirmishers are less than 4MU in front of me so I can not make a "full move" straight ahead. Does this mean my Spears can not move at all -or- can they advance as far at the rear of my Skirmishers?

2. During an Impact Phase I would like to have my Spearmen burst through my Skirmishers to charge the Longbows thus avoiding a Shooting Phase before Close Combat. Therefore I would like to fail my CMT not to charge. If I have a Commander with or in command range of the Spearmen must I add a command modifier to my roll, thus decreasing my chances of failing the test or is this modifier optional?

Thanks, Terry G.
paullongmore
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: Maneuvers with Welsh spearmen

Post by paullongmore »

If you are more than 5 inches from the longbows you can move short provided your move doesn't come within 5 inches of them (or any other enemy non-skirmisher unit).
If you have a commander with the unit you can move short.
Otherwise your only option is to remain stationary.

The bonus to CMT for a commander is not optional. If you wish to fail you can of course move the general away from the unit.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”