Orb formation

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Splinter
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:22 am
Location: Alicante (Spain)

Orb formation

Post by Splinter »

Hello, in my club we have some questions about the orb formation (rulebook pg 122). The problem comes with the number of dices that the unit can roll in impact or melee, and the number of dices that their enemies can roll. Let's see it with this diagram:

KN KN KN KN
SP SP
SP SP
SP SP
SP SP

A BG of Spearmen in orb formation is charged by a BG of Knights (all units are Steady). The rulebook says that the unit of Sp can fight with 1/4 of bases in any direction (rounded up), and 1/2 of these counts as front rank bases.
So, in these case, the unit of Sp can fight with 2 bases in any direction, counting only 1 base as a front rank base.

IMPACT
As the Kn contact 2 bases of Sp, is it a fight of 2 bases vs 2 bases? Or is it only a combat of 1 base vs 1 base, as the Sp have only 1 base counting as a front rank base?

MELEE
In melee the Sp fights with only 2 bases. But as a unit in orb formation "cannot be overlapped" (pg 122), do the Kn roll 4 dices, or do they roll 2 dices as the Sp have only 1 base counting as a front rank base?

I know it's a little confusing, but I hope that someone can resolve our doubts.
Thanks and sorry my poor english!!
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Re: Orb formation

Post by hazelbark »

Splinter wrote:
IMPACT
As the Kn contact 2 bases of Sp, is it a fight of 2 bases vs 2 bases? Or is it only a combat of 1 base vs 1 base, as the Sp have only 1 base counting as a front rank base?
KN 1 base with two dice vs Sp 1 base with two dice
POA KN do not get lance because Sp are steady. SP are only one rank for orb rule so no POA.

So POA is even 2 dice each


Splinter wrote: MELEE
In melee the Sp fights with only 2 bases. But as a unit in orb formation "cannot be overlapped" (pg 122), do the Kn roll 4 dices, or do they roll 2 dices as the Sp have only 1 base counting as a front rank base?
no overlap. 1 base of KN
Splinter
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:22 am
Location: Alicante (Spain)

Post by Splinter »

Thank you!! :wink:
DavidT
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:10 pm
Location: Northern Ireland

Post by DavidT »

Thanks for posing this question and answering it.
This one had been bothering me as well.
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

Scrumpy regularly uses orbs against me as the double envelopement of his line begins. I am still not ready for it when he does it. I would say it is effective against CV that is getting around, but is extra vulnerable to thinks that get a POA versus steady spear. worst case impact foot. But also other spear. As you don't get your own POAs just negate the others.
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5286
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

how about heavy weapons that negates the spears and takes out his armor. Those should break that orb rather well I would think.
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

Yes a heavy weapon gets only 1 POA edge. So it is good.
domblas
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: Montpellier, France

Post by domblas »

thk u for this post that answers exactly to one of my doubts.

the other doubt is about the position of the general touching an orb

should a general be in contact with an orb, and thus giving one point bonus to CT if that general is not with the BG. I mean, in orb formation the only position for a general should be in the middle of the orb, thus it is considered with the BG. am i right or wrong?
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

domblas wrote:thk u for this post that answers exactly to one of my doubts.

the other doubt is about the position of the general touching an orb

should a general be in contact with an orb, and thus giving one point bonus to CT if that general is not with the BG. I mean, in orb formation the only position for a general should be in the middle of the orb, thus it is considered with the BG. am i right or wrong?
wrong in game terms. I think we all see what you are saying, but the general could be encouraging them from inside or nearby which is different than fighting in the front rank which mean getting messy. The exact stand placement is less relevant.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”