Wagons can't charge spear?

Field of Glory II: Medieval

Moderator: rbodleyscott

Post Reply
CaptainPunka
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2021 12:01 am

Wagons can't charge spear?

Post by CaptainPunka »

I meticulously maneuvered by general-led wagon into position only to learn I can't charge that troop type? This was a big surprise to me since when I control-click the wagon, the tool pop-up does not say that I can't and I thought they were just like defensive spearmen. I checked the rules and sure enough, I come to learn they cannot charge anything.

May want to add that to the tool-tip so that others don't get surprised by this. But now I know and knowing is half the battle, right? :)
Attachments
wagon_vs_spear.PNG
wagon_vs_spear.PNG (485.13 KiB) Viewed 1070 times
zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 16664
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Wagons can't charge spear?

Post by zakblood »

posts against rules have been removed
Atherys
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2021 6:56 am

Re: Wagons can't charge spear?

Post by Atherys »

The men in the wagon unit can't charge because their main duty in the battlefield was to protect their standard. They also can't be flanked at all. I'm guessing that these quirks can be discovered by looking at their "unit details" section. It is pretty obscure however, and players rarely deploy them, so those who don't know the wagon's history or purpose will most likely be surprised.
Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory II: Medieval”