Break Off

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
ibarbero
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:33 am

Break Off

Post by ibarbero »

Hello,

I have a doubt. When a mounted BG A Break Off, is obliged to perform the following charging at the same BG who had contact with before doing so?

The rules is not clear for me... :oops:

Thanks
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

Hi,

I think that what you are asking is "does a mounted BG that has broken off from an enemy foot BG have to charge the same foot BG in the following impact phase". If this is the question then the answer is no but if the mounted BG is shock mounted then it would have to test not to charge lust like any other shock BG would and if you wanted the BG wanted to charge then it must by definition be in charge reach.

Hope that helps
ibarbero
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:33 am

Post by ibarbero »

So, if one or LH, Knight, Cavalry, Catafract or Cavalry is not required to charge the same or BG, if you choose, you can charge to any others, right?
david53
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2859
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: Manchester

Post by david53 »

ibarbero wrote:So, if one or LH, Knight, Cavalry, Catafract or Cavalry is not required to charge the same or BG, if you choose, you can charge to any others, right?
Shock mounted troops(Knights,Catafract's and Lancer Mounted Cavalry) have to test not to recharge any enemy BG in range. Other Cavalry do not need to charge any enemy BG within range.
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

ibarbero wrote:So, if one or LH, Knight, Cavalry, Catafract or Cavalry is not required to charge the same or BG, if you choose, you can charge to any others, right?
If a mounted BG breaks off it is in exactly the same situation that it would be in if it had moved up to the possition the previous move rather than broken off. If your mounted are lancers (but not light horse lancers) then they will probably have to take a CMT not to charge as they are shock troops
lawrenceg
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:24 pm
Location: Former British Empire

Post by lawrenceg »

ibarbero wrote:So, if one or LH, Knight, Cavalry, Catafract or Cavalry is not required to charge the same or BG, if you choose, you can charge to any others, right?
Right.


But note that there might be other reasons that could stop you charging another BG (for example, the rules about wheeling in a charge)
Lawrence Greaves
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

All the above correct.

In fact, one of the benefits of drilled cavalry is that you can sometimes try a charge - fail - and turn 90 and move to get away. I have seen a few long shot charges like that where the BG has saved itself when a base down, by moving away this way vs HF.

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”