Lance vs Lance

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
DaiSho
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
Posts: 792
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 10:02 am
Location: Australia

Lance vs Lance

Post by DaiSho »

Hi All,

This hasn't happened yet (I'm not a big user of Lance armed Cavalry) but I'm playing a 'teaching game' (me teaching - that's rather scary actually) tomorrow night and my opponent and I will be using Lance armed cavalry.

Lets assume that at some stage in the game my Cataphracts win against his Knightly Lance. Ok, ok, so lets just assume it happens. I know it's not likely this will occur, but I've got to be prepared.

So, now he takes a test for losing the combat - does he take -ve for 'losing to lancers'? I can see two sides to the story:

Yes, as he has lost to lance; and
No, Lance didn't count in this combat.

If I had to make a ruling I'd say 'yes'.

Ian
Viking (15mm)
Syracusan (15mm)
Palmyran (10mm - 15mm basing)
Horse Nomad (15mm)
Fulgrim
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 6:06 pm

Post by Fulgrim »

yes, this has been answered regarding a similar situation in another thread. Lance POA and lance modifier on CT are not dependent of eachother.
DaiSho
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
Posts: 792
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 10:02 am
Location: Australia

Post by DaiSho »

Fulgrim wrote:yes, this has been answered regarding a similar situation in another thread. Lance POA and lance modifier on CT are not dependent of eachother.
That's right - I remember reading it now - I think I even contributed. It was something to do with Knights vs Elephants from memory. What can I say? I've had 2 hours sleep last night :)

Thanks for your comment though.
Viking (15mm)
Syracusan (15mm)
Palmyran (10mm - 15mm basing)
Horse Nomad (15mm)
titanu
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:26 am

Post by titanu »

I think that it is not loosing to lancers but "Any troops testing for losing impact combat vs lancers" and we would assume that lancers are using their lance in the impact.
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

yes the - counts.

si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
nickj
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 11:42 pm

Post by nickj »

Well did that wrong...
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”