LF with Bow

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
nickandmatt
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 7:32 pm
Location: Portsmouth

LF with Bow

Post by nickandmatt »

As a relative newcomer to the game, I need to clarify shooting dice for LF armed with Bow.

If I have 6 bases of LF organised into a BG of 3 in front rank, then 3 in second rank.
How many shooting dice would I acquire if all the bases were in effective range of a target?

I am assuming i would get three dice?

LF = 1 per two bases in effective range

.......or have I missed out on some rules that the second rank cant shoot?

Matt
footslogger
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 412
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:50 pm

Post by footslogger »

No, you've got it right.
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28284
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

footslogger wrote:No, you've got it right.
But note that only the front rank has to be in range. The back rank count as if at the same range as the front rank. (Bases are vastly over historical depth),
ratprince
Panzer Corps Tournament 5th Place
Panzer Corps Tournament 5th Place
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:04 pm

Post by ratprince »

hmmm...

so, does that mean a column of LF with Bow in the same example (the front rank LF is in range and arc) would fire all the rear ranks at the same range?

Seems odd, but I want to clarify before playing this weekend...

:)
batesmotel
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 3608
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 8:52 pm

Post by batesmotel »

mikemcmann wrote:hmmm...

so, does that mean a column of LF with Bow in the same example (the front rank LF is in range and arc) would fire all the rear ranks at the same range?

Seems odd, but I want to clarify before playing this weekend...

:)
Only bow in the first two ranks can shoot. (Support shooting during impact from the 3rd or 4th rank is a different mechanism so is allowed.)

Chris
Lycanthropic
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:48 pm

Post by Lycanthropic »

So a MF Bow unit four ranks deep gets 5 dice per frontage at impact??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
Robert241167
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1368
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Post by Robert241167 »

I get 3 dice per file. 2 dice for front rank and 1 dice for 2nd rank. Page 92 says 1 dice per 2nd or 3rd rank base behind a base in combat (one rank only).

Rob
Blathergut
Field Marshal - Elefant
Field Marshal - Elefant
Posts: 5882
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada

Post by Blathergut »

p82: "other troops (than chariots/arty) shoot only w bases in 1st and 2nd ranks...[3rd rank LF dealt w in combat]

p90: "MF w bows...1 dice per 1st shooting rank + 1 dice per 2 bases 2nd rank"

So I don't see how you'd get 3 per file...3 per two files yes...for shooting

3 per file for close combat impact :)
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Troops shooting - i.e. in the shooting phase shoot in 2 ranks. A lomun of LF at long range gets no dice as needs 3 bases to claim a dice.

Troops providing support shooting in an impact get 1 rank of assitance, but this can be from the 2nd or 3rd of the BG formation.

Don't try to relate the two as the former is SHOOTING and the latter is part of COMBAT. With hindsight should have called the latter "support fire" or something.

Si
Last edited by shall on Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

shall wrote:Troops providing support shooting in an impact get 1 rank of assitance, but this can be from the 2nd, 3rd of 4th rank of the BG formation.
Only one of the 2nd or 3rd rank, not the 4th.
Robert241167
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1368
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Post by Robert241167 »

Blathergut

His question was Impact dice so my 3 per file is just in Impact, you are referencing shooting dice.

Rob
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”