Giuseppe
Battleline passing a VMT
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
Battleline passing a VMT
It is stated in FoG rulebook that one of the advantages of forming battlelines is that more BGs can performe together simultaneous actions (e.g., moving together). Suppose the following - happened to us in a game: a battleline made of three BGs of Egypitian New kigdom close fighters (MF, no impact) declare charging to some LF BGs deployed in front of them, which in turn evade. Do each BGs in the Egyptian battle line have to pass a Variable Move Test, or it is enough to pass a single VMT for all the battleline? It would seem reasonable to pass a single VMT, since the battleline is cohese and within the radius of its commander. Or not?
Giuseppe
Giuseppe
-
zoltan
- Captain - Heavy Cruiser

- Posts: 901
- Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
- Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Battle Line and CMT
What about this variation on a theme?
Three BGs of knights are in a BL with one general attached to the middle BG. Can the other 2 BGs count the general when they CMT not to charge? What if only the centre and one side BG wish to test not to charge (i.e. The third BG either doesn't have a target or choses to charge its target while his mates hold)? Do u only count the general if the whole BL is doing the same thing? I.e. All BGs testing not to charge?
Three BGs of knights are in a BL with one general attached to the middle BG. Can the other 2 BGs count the general when they CMT not to charge? What if only the centre and one side BG wish to test not to charge (i.e. The third BG either doesn't have a target or choses to charge its target while his mates hold)? Do u only count the general if the whole BL is doing the same thing? I.e. All BGs testing not to charge?
-
zoltan
- Captain - Heavy Cruiser

- Posts: 901
- Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
- Location: Wellington, New Zealand
CMT by BGs in BL
To recap:
3 BGs of knights in a BL
TC attached to middle BG
Middle and left BG have enemy BG within charge reach, right BG does not
Right BG does not CMT to avoid charging (it has no valid target)
Centre and Left BGs elect to CMT to avoid charging
They both add +1 for commander in line of command
Do they both add a second +1 for "if this same commander is with the battle group or battle line which is taking the test" (p43)
i.e. if only 2 out of 3 BGs in a BL are taking a CMT to avoid charging, do they still constitute a BL "which is taking the test"?
3 BGs of knights in a BL
TC attached to middle BG
Middle and left BG have enemy BG within charge reach, right BG does not
Right BG does not CMT to avoid charging (it has no valid target)
Centre and Left BGs elect to CMT to avoid charging
They both add +1 for commander in line of command
Do they both add a second +1 for "if this same commander is with the battle group or battle line which is taking the test" (p43)
i.e. if only 2 out of 3 BGs in a BL are taking a CMT to avoid charging, do they still constitute a BL "which is taking the test"?
-
rbodleyscott
- Field of Glory 2

- Posts: 28322
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm
Re: CMT by BGs in BL
Nozoltan wrote:To recap:
3 BGs of knights in a BL
TC attached to middle BG
Middle and left BG have enemy BG within charge reach, right BG does not
Right BG does not CMT to avoid charging (it has no valid target)
Centre and Left BGs elect to CMT to avoid charging
They both add +1 for commander in line of command
Do they both add a second +1 for "if this same commander is with the battle group or battle line which is taking the test" (p43)
i.e. if only 2 out of 3 BGs in a BL are taking a CMT to avoid charging, do they still constitute a BL "which is taking the test"?
To quote the rules (though I only have the final draft with me, so I cannot quote the page number):
"The following additional rules apply to CMTs to avoid charging without orders:
The CMT is taken by each individual battle group separately, even if it is part of a battle line. A commander cannot therefore be counted as “with” the battle group for the test unless he is actually with the battle group that is testing. "
Re: CMT by BGs in BL
BL are for easy movement for BG when you get close to enemy its down to BG not BLzoltan wrote:To recap:
3 BGs of knights in a BL
TC attached to middle BG
Middle and left BG have enemy BG within charge reach, right BG does not
Right BG does not CMT to avoid charging (it has no valid target)
Centre and Left BGs elect to CMT to avoid charging
They both add +1 for commander in line of command
Do they both add a second +1 for "if this same commander is with the battle group or battle line which is taking the test" (p43)
i.e. if only 2 out of 3 BGs in a BL are taking a CMT to avoid charging, do they still constitute a BL "which is taking the test"?
Dave
-
zoltan
- Captain - Heavy Cruiser

- Posts: 901
- Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
- Location: Wellington, New Zealand
BL taking CMT
Thanks Richard
So what is an example of where a BL takes a CMT and is able to add plus 1 for a general with the BL in addition to adding plus 1 for one of the BGs in the BL having the same general with that BG? Page 43.
PS I now have this mental picture of the rules author having to make do with carrying round a tatty old final draft of the rules in his briefcase to refer to, rather than the first printed copy off the production line with a large "no 1" embossed in gold leaf on the front cover. Cheapskates in the Marketing Department, huh? ;->)
So what is an example of where a BL takes a CMT and is able to add plus 1 for a general with the BL in addition to adding plus 1 for one of the BGs in the BL having the same general with that BG? Page 43.
PS I now have this mental picture of the rules author having to make do with carrying round a tatty old final draft of the rules in his briefcase to refer to, rather than the first printed copy off the production line with a large "no 1" embossed in gold leaf on the front cover. Cheapskates in the Marketing Department, huh? ;->)
-
rbodleyscott
- Field of Glory 2

- Posts: 28322
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm
Re: BL taking CMT
A BL including light artillery or war wagons must CMT to move at all.zoltan wrote:So what is an example of where a BL takes a CMT and is able to add plus 1 for a general with the BL in addition to adding plus 1 for one of the BGs in the BL having the same general with that BG? Page 43.
Actually it is on my computer at work - it makes it easy to quote without any typing.PS I now have this mental picture of the rules author having to make do with carrying round a tatty old final draft of the rules in his briefcase to refer to, rather than the first printed copy off the production line with a large "no 1" embossed in gold leaf on the front cover. Cheapskates in the Marketing Department, huh? ;->)




