Pursuit in the Impact Phase

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

SonofTosh
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 9:48 am
Location: Wirral

Post by SonofTosh »

I note you can have multiple combats and pursuits in the same Impact phase, Impact pursuers fighting any fresh enemy in the same phase. So I think there is an argument for multiple evades too?
SirGarnet
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:13 am

Post by SirGarnet »

SonofTosh wrote:I note you can have multiple combats and pursuits in the same Impact phase, Impact pursuers fighting any fresh enemy in the same phase. So I think there is an argument for multiple evades too?
Indeed, p108 is specific that evasive troops can evade if they would be contacted by pursuers (unless in close combat, not as an overlap), and indeed skirmishers in the open must pass a test if they wish not to evade.

I suppose your question is whether some LH that evade from one BG of pursuers evade again when
(a) another BG of pursuers moves that would contact them after they may their evade move

The answer to (a) is that they evade if they would be contacted by pursuers. Pursuers move at the same time so the bisect the "angle of charge" of both pursuers to evade (unless they can evade to their own rear).

(b) the same pursuer, after routing another BG that they hit, now pursues into the same LH again (likely only to happen when rolling up a flank).

The answer to (b) is new potential pursuit contact = new evade; they have now evaded 3 times this turn without even finishing the Impact Phase.
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Must have been jet lag - or was he speaking Finnish?

Have e-mailed him to see if he recalls any such thing?

He was vertical at the time wasn't he?

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Spoken to Terry the Great and he vaguely recalls a covnersation but was talking about not being eble to evade twice from charges. He agrees with version as I have posted.

Solved?

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

needs faq
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Why? Its exactly what the RAW say already. There is nothing to FAQ unless I am missing something.

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

shall wrote:Why? ............. There is nothing to FAQ unless I am missing something.

Si
The time and day I posted
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Ah the old 1am posting syndrome strikes again. Turst you had a good night phil!!
:)
Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”