Flank attack position

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
giobaratto
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:25 am

Flank attack position

Post by giobaratto »

Yesterday night a charge on the flank of some breton cavalry by andalusian spearmen eventually happens...
looking at the pictures could someone of you say if we deal correctly in positioning the spear after the first impact?

Image
Her's the first impact...

Image
that's the final position for the meele....

we have done something wrong?

Cheers to everybody will have the will to answer
giorgio
sergiomonteleone
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:26 pm

Re: Flank attack position

Post by sergiomonteleone »

giobaratto wrote:Yesterday night a charge on the flank of some breton cavalry by andalusian spearmen eventually happens...
looking at the pictures could someone of you say if we deal correctly in positioning the spear after the first impact?

Image
Her's the first impact...

Image
that's the final position for the meele....

we have done something wrong?

Cheers to everybody will have the will to answer
giorgio
Ciao Giorgio,
even if probably you are expecting some international player, I was reading the forum and my anserw is yes: the final positiong is correct in the melee, after you had expanded for overlapping.
I'm going to read your battle report ......................
see you soon
Sergio
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

I think that is OK assuming that the right hand file of the flanking spearmen has moved there under the feeding bases into melee rules.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
giobaratto
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:25 am

Post by giobaratto »

nikgaukroger wrote:I think that is OK assuming that the right hand file of the flanking spearmen has moved there under the feeding bases into melee rules.
Right 'cause they put themselves on second rank and then confirm on the flank.... that's what we think should be conforming to the rules, but I just need a second point of view...
thanx
giobaratto
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:25 am

Re: Flank attack position

Post by giobaratto »

Ciao Giorgio,
Ciao Sergio,
i'll put the same question on the italian speaking forum so we will see their interpretation, but I'm quite sure we move correctly...
just to be sure and avoid misundertanding :D
giorgio[/quote]
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

If it was a legal flank charge yes.


The position looks like it may not have been though. As a frontal contact could end up in the same position at impact.
giobaratto
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:25 am

Post by giobaratto »

philqw78 wrote:If it was a legal flank charge yes.
It was a legal flank attack.... the spears are beyond the front line of the cavalrry when they charged,
the doubts arose about the position for the meele...
giorgio
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

No problem then, horse meat for tea :)
gibby
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Northampton

Post by gibby »

Would I be right in saying that the expansion to the right though adds nothing to the melee as it is an internal overlap and therefore I wonder if it can be done.
giobaratto
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:25 am

Post by giobaratto »

gibby wrote:Would I be right in saying that the expansion to the right though adds nothing to the melee as it is an internal overlap and therefore I wonder if it can be done.
That's was our doubt. The alternative was placing the whole spearmen gorup on the far left with only the first base that contacted the cavalry in contact, the second group of bases in overlap position and the last one on the back of the first or on the left...

what to you think it's the better way to depict this situation?
gio
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

Would I be right in saying that the expansion to the right though adds nothing to the melee as it is an internal overlap and therefore I wonder if it can be done.

The illustration on page 86 would indicate that they do fight.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
giobaratto
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:25 am

Post by giobaratto »

nikgaukroger wrote:
Would I be right in saying that the expansion to the right though adds nothing to the melee as it is an internal overlap and therefore I wonder if it can be done.

The illustration on page 86 would indicate that they do fight.
correct... crystal
thanx
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

giobaratto wrote:
That's was our doubt. The alternative was placing the whole spearmen gorup on the far left with only the first base that contacted the cavalry in contact, the second group of bases in overlap position and the last one on the back of the first or on the left...
The initial position after conforming would be with only the first base in contact with the cavalry and two files to their left, i.e. one in overlap and one further away. Hence the commenst that the right hand file as shown in your picture can only be there from feeding bases into melee.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
marioslaz
Captain - Bf 110D
Captain - Bf 110D
Posts: 870
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:11 pm
Location: San Lazzaro (BO) Italy

Post by marioslaz »

nikgaukroger wrote:
Would I be right in saying that the expansion to the right though adds nothing to the melee as it is an internal overlap and therefore I wonder if it can be done.

The illustration on page 86 would indicate that they do fight.
Yes, but the illustration which you refer is incomprehensible to me. Why in the left file does rear base turn, while in right hand file it doesn't do?
Mario Vitale
gibby
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 12:50 am
Location: Northampton

Post by gibby »

Absolutely correct Nik.
I knew there was something about internal corners but didn't have my rules to hand to look up.
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

marioslaz wrote:
nikgaukroger wrote:
Would I be right in saying that the expansion to the right though adds nothing to the melee as it is an internal overlap and therefore I wonder if it can be done.

The illustration on page 86 would indicate that they do fight.
Yes, but the illustration which you refer is incomprehensible to me. Why in the left file does rear base turn, while in right hand file it doesn't do?
Possibly a mistake. However, as the diagram is for illustrating which bases can fight in melee it isn't really material.
Last edited by nikgaukroger on Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

gibby wrote:Absolutely correct Nik.
I knew there was something about internal corners but didn't have my rules to hand to look up.

I always have to look this one up - doesn't stick for some reason :cry:
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”