Overlap and moving bases into melee question

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
zulu
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:41 am

Overlap and moving bases into melee question

Post by zulu »

i have the following situation:

Enemy FP1-FP2-FP3-FP4
Friendly LB1-LB1-LB1-LB1-LB2-LB2-LB2-LB2
Friendly LB1-----------------LB2-LB2-LB2-LB2
----------------BG1--------|--------BG2--------|

in other words - i have 2 BG of longbows facing off against french peasants (ok - not a fair fight but this is where i stand :) )- only a single file of the LB2 is involved in the melee as an overlap

Question: In the movement phase, can i contract LB1 by one file to bring more LB2's to bear on the melee? ie. i would end up with a situation like this:

Enemy FP1-FP2-FP3-FP4
Friendly LB1-LB1-LB1-LB2-LB2-LB2-LB2
Friendly LB1-LB1------LB2-LB2-LB2-LB2
---------BG1----------|--------BG2--------|

if i am able to do this i could change my number of dice from 7 to 9
marioslaz
Captain - Bf 110D
Captain - Bf 110D
Posts: 870
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:11 pm
Location: San Lazzaro (BO) Italy

Re: Overlap and moving bases into melee question

Post by marioslaz »

zulu wrote:i have the following situation:

Enemy FP1-FP2-FP3-FP4
Friendly LB1-LB1-LB1-LB1-LB2-LB2-LB2-LB2
Friendly LB1-----------------LB2-LB2-LB2-LB2
----------------BG1--------|--------BG2--------|

in other words - i have 2 BG of longbows facing off against french peasants (ok - not a fair fight but this is where i stand :) )- only a single file of the LB2 is involved in the melee as an overlap

Question: In the movement phase, can i contract LB1 by one file to bring more LB2's to bear on the melee? ie. i would end up with a situation like this:

Enemy FP1-FP2-FP3-FP4
Friendly LB1-LB1-LB1-LB2-LB2-LB2-LB2
Friendly LB1-LB1------LB2-LB2-LB2-LB2
---------BG1----------|--------BG2--------|

if i am able to do this i could change my number of dice from 7 to 9
No, you can't. In order to move bases during melee, for example to feed more bases, the principal requirement is that these bases didn't contribute to melee, with dice or POA.

Mario.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”